Beans and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This recipe is great because you can easily keep the ingredients on hand and make it quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I love beans and I love spinach, so this is great to me. I followed Meriberk's suggestion and drained off the juice on the beans and replaced with water where necessary. The beans still have a salty enough flavor to me. I also left out the oil, as per another suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this because I try to eat healthy, but it turned out very tasty as well. I first sauteed chopped onion and garlic in the olive oil, added the broth and spinach, and finally the canned beans (all rinsed and drained as I don't like the feel of the bean liquid). Added a good bit of crushed red pepper and a handful of broken angel hair pasta. Very good and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Great soup! I bought the beans with no salt added to cut down on the sodium content. I also added onion for more flavor. Other than that, I just followed the recipe. My mother made the comment that it looked disgusting, but now she's hooked! This is very good and definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
It needed something more to it. It was a little bland for my tastes. I added some heat to it by adding in red pepper flakes and a few tablespoons of chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEABOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
A very tasty healthy dish for those of us without much energy after a long day of work. Only thing I substituted was chopped garlic for the garlic powder (you can but this pre-chopped at the grocery store, so I stock it.) This is a keeper for my winter cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
We really liked this alot. Only thing I did differently was omit the oil and added a can of whole leaf spinach because just the 1 package of frozen wasn't enough. Next time I will try it with 2 pkgs of frozen. I used freshly ground pepper and did not add any salt. As others commented, there was plenty of salt in it from the canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
When I first read this recipe I was not too sure about it. I thought about how I could make it better and this is really a good hearty soup for a winter meal on a budget. The changes I made were slight. I added a chopped onion and 1 chopped carrot. I used black beans, dark kidney beans, northern beans and chili beans and added a can of chopped tomatos. I used 2 cans of chicken broth and floated 2 boneless skinless chicken thighs and chopped them when cooked. I omitted the oil. Spinich is such a nice change in soup! This all went in my crock-pot in the morning and the house smelled so good as soon as I opened the door after work! The flavor is great and I love all the colors together and the broth is such a rich dark color! I make lots of crock-pot soups and this is a keeper! Thanks for the great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
We did not like this at all. I followed the recipe as written except that I used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Well, at the end, I ended up dumping in garlic powder, tabasco, extra black pepper, chili powder, and crushed red pepper in an effort to make it taste like something. It's very healthy and very easy if you like it, and a lot of people do. In the event that you do make this and when you taste it it's not for you, I did find that the chili powder and then topping the whole thing with fat free yogurt gave it more flavor, so we were able to eat it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This soup is healthy and delicious!!! I used chicken stock made with a chicken base so it was really rich. I used all beans except pinto as I didn't have any in the pantry. I omitted the oil as I did't see any reason for it and it's healthier without it. I will definitely be making this one again for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States