Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Yum Yum - this is a great way to get rid of some of that extra Easter ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Used chicken broth instead of water. good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This Bean Soup recipe is da-bomb! I took the advice of Barb Maxwell, the Appalachian Kid and boiled the beans hard for 10 minutes followed by the baking soda to reduce gas. Will try this out on the boys tonight and see if it works. The better the ham bone, the better the soup. Honey Baked ones always turn out best. I added some thyme, garlic and Cumin, + a can of diced tomatoes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I have used this recipe for years and here's what I do to enhance the flavor. I always buy 1 pound of kielbasa and cut into small pieces and add to the soup. I also use 2 cups of chicken stock in exchange for some of the water needed. Try it. It's DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy32408
Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very good soup as written. I like to add a can of sour kraut prepared with bacon and onions before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
My husband thought this was great - but I'm not a bean soup person, so I thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I have made a similar recipe for navy bean soup, however I never heard of the baking soda method and I'm eager to try it. I would state that it is a good idea to "test" the ham before you put it in the recipe. Some hams have more salt than others. If your ham is salty, cut back on the table salt in the recipe or use water as stated in this recipe. If it's rather bland, use chicken broth/stock before adding table salt, it will add more flavor. Another tip...if you would like to refrain from using pork products for this recipe, I suggest using smoked turkey legs in place of the ham bone and ham meat. You may want to use chicken broth in place of water though since most smoked turkey legs have half the salt of ham bones or ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emorycc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I was looking for a way to use a very meaty hambone that didn't include split peas and found this recipe. It was easy and very good. I did follow the suggestion of another reviewer and stirred baking soda into the beans. That's a neat trick, thanks! A very flavorful soup that re-heats well. I think I will serve it with corn bread next time. Now there's a rib-sticking meal. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
oh good i get to be review #100! this soup was very tasty the only thing i did different was i cooked it overnight in a slow cooker actually just the ham bone,beans and water and added the rest in the morning so it was ready for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was a very bland soup. I did everything in my power to give it some taste but in the garbage it went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States