Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Soup was great. Of course, I modified slightly. Used 1.25 cups each carrots & celery, a whole diced onion. 2/3 of a large meaty smoked ham shank, omitted the diced ham as it was not needed. Soaked overnight, drained soaking water and added 4 cups chicken broth + 3 cups water. Although there was not much added salt, I would omit it next time as the ham shank added the correct amount without adding extra. Used much more fresh cracked black pepper that called for 10-15 turns of pepper grinder. Smashed about 1/2 the beans with a potato masher at the end for better texture. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Excellent. I use Ham Hocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very healthy and very good. I left out te ham. I added a package of frozen spinach. And I used vegetable stock instead of water. I doubled the carrots and celery. I still feel like it was missing something. But adding the spinach was a big improvement. Next time I may add a can of tomato paste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My mom grew up in WV and this recipe is authentic. Make sure to rinse the beans after they soak! Don't add the salt 'til the end, you may not want it. I used 4 cups no salt added chicken stock and 3 cups water. You *have* to serve this soup with cornbread (I bake mine in a cast iron skillet), and you can use ham hocks if you don't have a bone. :) Don't forget to mash some soup up against the side of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Used mixed beans, 2 bay leaves, and a dash of savory. Kept everything else the same. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
good, but it's missing something even after adding spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is the simple straight forward bean soup I have been looking for for years! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I took some of the other reviewers suggestions when I made this recipe. I did take Barb Maxwell's advice and did the soda trick and I also used half chicken broth instead of all water. I did NOT have a ham bone but I did have a package of smoked ham NECK bones that I used instead. I thought this turned out really well but I think it could use something......something I just can't put my finger on. Garlic? Maybe another bay leaf. I'd like to play with this recipe a little. Next time, I'd definitely increase the carrots and celery. As is, good starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Yummy! The smell while it was cooking had the whole family inquiring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States