Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This has been my basic recipe for 50 years and came from my southern cooking grandmother. The only additions to this recipe are two heaping tablespoons of minced garlic, 1 each of beef and chicken bouillon cubes and a touch of cajun seasoning. I soak the beans about 4 hours with the hock, bay leaf and bouillon then add the onion and carrot (1) before putting the heat under the pressure cooker. 30 min at 15# then into a crock pot for 4 hours. While very hot I add two big tablespoons of instant potatoes for thickening and a touch of potato flavor. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I will adjust my review in a few days after I have made this but first I must respond to the reviewer who claims that adding baking soda to the beans will reduce the amount of gas they will cause. That is NOT true. Adding baking soda (aka sodium bicarbonate) reduce the amount of time beans need to soak but no more so than plain old table salt (sodium chloride). The gas from beans occurs when bacteria in your intestine consumes the naturally occurring sugars in the bean. The only thing you can do to minimize that while cooking is to be sure to thoroughly drain and rinse the beans after their initial soaking in hot water to remove any sugars that may have leached out of the beans into the cooking water. If that's not enough, then take some Beano before or with the first bite of the meal. That will stop the bacteria from breaking down the sugars. I know this because I'm a pharmacist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I did like other reviews and added instant potatoes to give it body and it did along with some hot peppers diced approx. 2 tbsp. left out the salt, as the ham gave it enough, my husband enjoyed along with cornbread which is a must with bean soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emhogan95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I've been making this for years! love it! I use a lot of black pepper in it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Soup was great. Of course, I modified slightly. Used 1.25 cups each carrots & celery, a whole diced onion. 2/3 of a large meaty smoked ham shank, omitted the diced ham as it was not needed. Soaked overnight, drained soaking water and added 4 cups chicken broth + 3 cups water. Although there was not much added salt, I would omit it next time as the ham shank added the correct amount without adding extra. Used much more fresh cracked black pepper that called for 10-15 turns of pepper grinder. Smashed about 1/2 the beans with a potato masher at the end for better texture. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Excellent. I use Ham Hocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very healthy and very good. I left out te ham. I added a package of frozen spinach. And I used vegetable stock instead of water. I doubled the carrots and celery. I still feel like it was missing something. But adding the spinach was a big improvement. Next time I may add a can of tomato paste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My mom grew up in WV and this recipe is authentic. Make sure to rinse the beans after they soak! Don't add the salt 'til the end, you may not want it. I used 4 cups no salt added chicken stock and 3 cups water. You *have* to serve this soup with cornbread (I bake mine in a cast iron skillet), and you can use ham hocks if you don't have a bone. :) Don't forget to mash some soup up against the side of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Used mixed beans, 2 bay leaves, and a dash of savory. Kept everything else the same. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
good, but it's missing something even after adding spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States