Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I have made this twice already, it's so yummy! Never had used navy beans (Northern Beans) before and couldn't get over how simple this recipe was. Incredible how good these beans are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymaggie03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This soup came out good although I think It needed some kind of tomato product. After if was done I ended added a small can of tomato sauce because that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
this is the closest to my way of doing it,and my way to make this soup is the best way of course,you dont need to add any salt.fresh biscuits or a good grainy corn bread is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This soup tasted wonderful. I will definately use this recipe again. I used a slow cook method, (after the overnight bean soaking.) I also replaced half of the water with chicken broth and added a little garlic, but didnt use a bay leaf. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Yummy! Used four cans of rinsed white beans instead of dry and an reserved ham bone. Added extra carrots, another bay leaf and three Yukon Gold potatoes diced small. Used a combination of chicken stock and water and added extra ham since my hambone did not have enough meat on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Another vote here for using the crockpot. Good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Great in the crock pot. Start in the morning come home from work and dinner is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Excellent soup and sooooo easy. Add bread and you have a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Wonderful soup! I substituted 3 Cups of beef broth for 3 Cups of the water. Also used two pork hocks in place of the ham bone because I didn't have one of those. Also put in 1/4 cup ketsup as suggested by one of the reviewers. We will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
The baking soda trick really eliminated any gas problem! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States