Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delicious. I loved Campbell's Bean with Bacon soup as a kid, and this has a similar flavor, but is a much better soup. I use dried pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Used veggie burger instead of ham. Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is very much like my usual recipe. I do soak my beans overnight. I add a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatos and a couple of fresh sage leaves (julienned) about an hour before serving. Bean soup with sage is a natural combination. But the big difference is that I make ham stock (just like chicken stock, but with a ham bone). Skim the fat off before freezing, and keep it in the freezer for just such a recipe. That way I can omit the stringy, fatty bits in the soup. I add ham back into the soup so I can control bits of fat. I sometimes add a bit of dry white wine (1/2 cup) at the end, if I feel like it. Gives a nice boost of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Bingham-Husk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
These are the exact ingredients I put in my navy bean soup. Except I never add diced ham. I just use the ham bone to flavor it. A dash of garlic powder and boullion powder is also a nice touch. And, to make it even easier on me, I soak the beans overnight and then in the morning I put them and the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot. If I don't have a ham bone I will even make it vegetarian and leave it out. This is a very affordable and comforting soup that's great in the cold winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was awesome! I did the baking soda method and my husband loved them....thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefintrainingturner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
So very good....made this in the crockpot with a leftover ham bone and a bag of navy beans that had soaked overnight. So warm and filling...as this cooks, the beans thicken the soup and slightly break down. Hearty and perfect on a cold day. And very easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I gave it 5 stars even though I modified original recipe by using chicken broth instead of water and just one smoked ham shank instead of the ham bone/diced ham because it turned out just absolutely fantastic! I did use immersion blender slightly to thicken soup up. Really really yummy on a cold night. Used bread to wipe bowl clean yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Followed ingredients as provided but used chicken broth instead of water and used crock pot. EXCELLENT and EASY! Soaked beans overnight. Cooked in crock pot for 4 hours and soup was done by lunch. Soaking is not necessary if you can cook in crock pot longer. Boyfriend said this was a "10". Cooked this for the 2nd time last night. Cooked in crock pot on high and did not soak beans. Soup was done in 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very good, a sure keeper for when you get your hands on a ham bone. If you want to thicken it up some, add some extra beans, and then when you are done simmering, use a wooden spoon and mash some of the beans in the pot, this will thicken your base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was great bean soup. Our Church did a pig roast last weekend and I used one of the ham bones for the soup. I also added some of the left over pulled pork in addition to ham cubed. It turned out great. I did double the recipe to make a larger pot. Excellent over all. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States