Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Even after several recommended changes it was still bland. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet's girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is ham and bean soup the way I remember it. Boyfriend likes to put hot sauce and corn bread in it, I like it just the way it is. Traditional easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great recipe, especially after it sits a day. I added a little minced garlic and a little more water. I have always liked drop noodles in my thick soups, so I added some when the soup was almost done. I don't really have a recipe for drop noodles, because I just throw them together, but if you ever made noodles from scratch, I am sure you could use that recipe. But, after you make the dough, instead of rolling it out and cutting into noodle strips, you just take the ball of dough and use a teaspoon to cut off little peices of dough and drop them into the soup. They cook almost instantly, but I usually wait and let them boil for 5 to 10 minutes. They float when they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
great base recipe! I had a ham bone to use, which I'd never done before, but the only beans on hand were red beans & kidney beans. I used red beans and it still turned out delicious. Kinda reminded me of the ol' campbells bean'n bacon soup, texture-wise. Better the 2nd day! Otherwise, kept spices the same and found it plenty salty with just the ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frisby0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trempealeau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Wonderful Im glad I found this great receipe to work with, this was my first attempt at soup! I used black eyed peas though, soaked them over night and used a can of diced tomatoes with garlic. I also cooked mine in my crockpot on slow for 8 hours. I So great even my picky son loved it and my husband did as well. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delicious. I loved Campbell's Bean with Bacon soup as a kid, and this has a similar flavor, but is a much better soup. I use dried pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Used veggie burger instead of ham. Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is very much like my usual recipe. I do soak my beans overnight. I add a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatos and a couple of fresh sage leaves (julienned) about an hour before serving. Bean soup with sage is a natural combination. But the big difference is that I make ham stock (just like chicken stock, but with a ham bone). Skim the fat off before freezing, and keep it in the freezer for just such a recipe. That way I can omit the stringy, fatty bits in the soup. I add ham back into the soup so I can control bits of fat. I sometimes add a bit of dry white wine (1/2 cup) at the end, if I feel like it. Gives a nice boost of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Bingham-Husk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
These are the exact ingredients I put in my navy bean soup. Except I never add diced ham. I just use the ham bone to flavor it. A dash of garlic powder and boullion powder is also a nice touch. And, to make it even easier on me, I soak the beans overnight and then in the morning I put them and the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot. If I don't have a ham bone I will even make it vegetarian and leave it out. This is a very affordable and comforting soup that's great in the cold winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was awesome! I did the baking soda method and my husband loved them....thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefintrainingturner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States