Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
good soup, One thing my mom always did at the end and her mom too was add a little vinegar. It added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I used some chicken base in the water as others had said broth made it better, and wound up adding a bit more water and carrots and celery. I got a ham bone from Honey Baked Ham and the soup was great! Definitely the best white bean soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
very good, it's a bean soup, hearty and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Always rinse the beans after soaking- can give a stomach ache or gas is you're sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Following some other reviewer's suggestions, I made the following changes/ additions: used 4 c. chicken stock and 3 c. water, 1 c. each of carrots and celery. I soaked the beans overnight and then let it all cook in the crock pot all day on low. It's the most delicious soup I've ever made (and I'm 70 years old, so have made more than a few soups!) - Thanks for sharing, Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made just as the recipe stated and my dad loved it. He had been bugging me to try and make bean soup for months. This was a simple recipe. I found it a bit salty and will be adding another bag of beans and more water to the leftovers but that was the ham and not the recipe as other then the salt on the ham I didn't add any. I did end up using a good bit of black pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I had to take some beans out to fit everything in my pan, but it seemed like a better amount anyways. Everything else was on par with the recipe and it was great. I soaked my beans over night out of convenience. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Yum! I cook it altogether from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Great recipe base. I used a variety of beans and instead of ham bones I used smoked turkey wings which gave the same smoked effect. Also added 2 sprigs of thyme leaves. Also, instead of water I used two quarts of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I have never even ate bean soup, made it for my husband, pretty sure I had more of it then he did. Super easy and Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States