Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We always scoop out a cup of beans and mash them and then re-introduce to soup (well, hello there, beans), this extra thickening makes it uber-delicious. And if you grew up poor, like we did, you will put a big fat slice of bread in the bowl before you pour in the soup. None of us starved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very good! This was my first time using my leftover ham bone from Christmas dinner and soaking the dried beans as well. I used great northern beans and it turned out fabulously! I would not add any salt next time as it was plenty salty due to the ham. Also used some Swason's Flavor Booster and that probably increased the saltiness as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delcious! Added beef broth instead of water. We loved it and will make it gain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This soup is really good. I accidently left out the bay leaf and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
After years of searching for a great bean soup recipe, I've finally found it! The first time I made this, I used diced ham. It was good, but the second time I made it, I used 4 slices of bacon instead. That's the one I prefer. I put the bacon in raw and took out the large pieces when it was done cooking. I also added just a touch of brown sugar. I put everything in the crock pot on high (about 4 hours for navy beans and 5-6 hours for great northern beans), and didn't need to soak or precook the beans at all. If the beans start looking dry, just add a little more water and they'll be fine. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was just like mom used to make. Well, with a few minor tweaks. I did drain and rinse the beans first.. I didn't need all that ham, just the ham off the bone. I added canned tomatoes that I had chopped finely WITH the juice. I also added one clove of garlic, and a lot more pepper, and just a touch of cayenne pepper, touch of ground cloves, and I used chicken broth I had left over for half the liquid. It's cooking now and I'm thinking about adding some thyme too!! Very good starter recipe to add your special touch to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was simple and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is an excellent recipe - I added bits of bacon in addition to the ham (if it is handy). This is the first time I tried a recipe with veggies. Also and since my family likes the thicker soup I add the water, boil them down, add the water and boil them down the second time. A favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
You must add other spices to give this soup any flavor. I added some garlic, chicken broth, and thyme as well as a couple potato's to thicken it up or it is runny. Just cut up a big potato (I sliced one in half) and put it in until it was soft. I took it out mashed it up and put it back in did the trick to make the soup thicker. Without the additional spices it didnt taste like anything. It also needed more carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This has been my basic recipe for 50 years and came from my southern cooking grandmother. The only additions to this recipe are two heaping tablespoons of minced garlic, 1 each of beef and chicken bouillon cubes and a touch of cajun seasoning. I soak the beans about 4 hours with the hock, bay leaf and bouillon then add the onion and carrot (1) before putting the heat under the pressure cooker. 30 min at 15# then into a crock pot for 4 hours. While very hot I add two big tablespoons of instant potatoes for thickening and a touch of potato flavor. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States