Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I started with this recipe and made a few changes. First, my store didn't have navy beans, so I used great northern beans. I took the advice of others and use 4 c. chicken stock and 3 c. water. I also didn't use a ham bone. Finally, I added 3 c. diced ham and 1 c. each of carrots and celery. This was just the right amount of ham and veggies. I soaked the beans overnight, then let it cook all day in the crockpot on low. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I really liked this soup. Served with some warm cornbread, it makes a satisfying meal on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Great taste! I added cubed potatoes, 1/4 cup tomato sauce and spinach. The family liked it. The perfect meal with homesteader cornbread. The 2nd time I made this recipe, I used a mixture of red kidney beans & black eyed peas. I also added 1 tsp of cumin powder & 2 tbsp of chicken bouillon powder. This was made in the crock pot. This is now my favorite bean soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I have been making this soup for years now, and it always turns out great. I think this is the best bean soup recipe I've ever found. I always add some extra carrots because I love carrots. I use the baking soda method suggested in a review by Barb Maxwell, and did not add the salt the recipe called for because other reviewers suggested that the baking soda added too much sodium. Sometimes I use a ham bone, and sometimes I get ham hocks. Both work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was delicious! I was looking for a recipe for bean soup that I had at a restaurant that was awesome- and this was very close! The only thing I changed was the bay leaf- I did not have one so I left it out and couldn't tell the difference. I also made this in the crockpot and cooked it on low for 12 hours. Very delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I only had canned Navy beans so I pureed half of them and kept the other half whole. I then stirred them into the soup after I removed the bone. I really enjoyed this recipe. It's a nice light and tasty way to use my left over ham. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I used a 20 pkg. of mixed beans, used the baking soda tip and 6 cans low sodium chicken broth along with 1 cup water. Still was a bit salty, but everyone loved it. My first attempt at home made soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was a simple, easy and tasty soup to make. I followed the recipe exactly and added a little mustard powder. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is a hearty soup and a great place for a leftover ham bone. We like our soup a little thicker. My only suggestion is to use an addition 1/2 cup of beans, puree them in a food processor and add back to the stock at the end. Yummmmmmmmmmm !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
My husband and I loved every spoonful of this awesome, awesome, awesome soup! I used smoked turkey meat because I didn't have a ham bone, and omitted the diced ham since the smoked turkey meat was enough. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder and a teaspoon of onion powder (didn't have a fresh onion) and used 3 bay leaves instead of just one. Because this recipe is such a terific base for a variety of bean soups, the changes I made still resulted in an outstanding soup. We'll enjoy this soup many times this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States