Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Was very good. I pureed a cup and a half of the soup mixture and added ketchup like a previous review suggested. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This soup turned out very flavorful. I did replace about half the water with vegetable broth. I also added a little dry mustard, marjoram and fresh thyme. My boyfriend kept raving about the soup. I definitely need to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTFETYKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I took some of the other reviewer's suggestions and doubled the veggies, pureed some of the beans and added them back in after they were cooked and did not use the bay leaf. I used 4 cups chicken broth and then 3 cups water and I think it came out pretty good! My only problem was that I soaked the beans overnight, then cooked them all day on low in the crockpot and they still were not done in time for dinner. We had to cook them on high for several hours and then put them back in on low the next day and on the second day they were finally done. I think next time I'd either start off cooking them on high and then switch over to low or use the baking soda method others used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I have made this soup a couple of times now and almost everyone always loves it. I only gave it 4* because I changed a few things: used 5 cups chicken broth and enough water to cover beans, used mixture of Great Northern, Pinto and Kidney beans (soaked overnight); omitted the salt and onions, used 2 cups each carrots and celery, added 1 can diced tomatoes, added 2 T. of minced garlic, 1 tsp. of liquid smoke and 2 bay leaves. I also just threw everything in the pot, brought it to a boil over medium heat, reduced the heat and simmered for 6 hours. Right before serving I stirred in about 1/2 cup instant potato flakes to thicken it up a bit. With these changes its a great soup. Also keeps well. Thanks for posting and to all the other reviewers for their suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very Good! Reminded me of my Mom's bean soup. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Doubled the recipe for this soup, which was very good. Kinda messed up my measurements which mostly went by my taste. Had a huge hambone with lots of meat, tried the baking soda trick, that was cool! Doubled up the veggies and added no salt, just boullion powder to taste and pepper. I made the extra to freeze for lazy days. I wouldn't have minded some tomatoes or tomato sauce but loved this soup. Served with beer bread from this site. Nice wintertime meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was excellent and filling. I did add chicken broth instead of water, and I let it cook longer at a low heat. Even my VERY picky son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was awesome! I ended up adding a can of ckn broth for more liquid since some evaporated and it was excellent! I needed to use some leftover honey baked ham and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was excellent! I like my soup sweet, so I added a bit of brown sugar and ketchup. Yummy! Great flavor even without my additions! My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I tried this recipe and I am sure it would have been fantastic but...I tried another reviewers tip and added the baking soda to the beans after they boiled. I thought I followed the directions but I dont think I rinsed the beans well enough after adding the baking soda. My soup turned out extremely salty! It ruined it. I think this was my mistake so rinse rinse and rinse again so you dont make the same mistake I did and ruin a good pot of soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States