Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Ham and bean soup was something my mother always made when I was growing up. Since moving out, I've missed things like the smell of her cooking. But since we're so health conscious, and don't eat pork, I tried things a little different. Chicken thigh meat instead if ham, low sodium, and fresh bell peppers. Red pepper flakes are delicious too if you like it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is great just the way it is written! My preference is a country or Smithfield ham bone/meat, but realize that they are not available everywhere. To put some of the ingredients that others suggest, ketchup, brown sugar, liquid smoke, etc., you must be kidding or from western PA like my husband who puts ketchup on everything. Please rate a recipe as written or post your own version as a separate recipe. Being a southern girl, this is the way to prepare navy bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I added chicken stock as some reviewers suggested, omitted the salt, and doubled the veggies. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
After cooking the beans, added a few cups of chicken broth as there was not enough liquid. Adding pepper as I served it made it perfect! This is definitely a go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe very similar to what my mom made while growing up. I would never use chicken stock or add tomatoes, however when eating a bowl add a teaspoon or two of malt vinegar, homemade garlic bread on the side makes a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The beans turned out wonderful. I followed the recipe for the most part but I made some modifications. I did 4 cups water and 4 cups chicken broth. I doubled the veggies...but I also added some additional seasoning (along with what was added already) to zest it up a little. I added 1 can of diced tomatoes (Italian style), 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp garlic pepper and 1 tsp of Italian seasoning. It was delicious. All 4 of my kids loved it. Serve with warm corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This soup needs a ham base or chicken base for fuller flavor. Once added we liked this soup very much. I also have never soaked beans. I put everything in the pot to a boil then lower heat to simmer and cook for about 2 1/2 hours. Great on a cold winters day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used canned beans to cut the cooking time and smoked turkey wings to season the soup instead of ham since we dont eat pork. I also added ALOT more garlic! It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I let my beans soak overnight instead. And I add two ham hocks instead of one because that is the only way I can buy them around where I live and it turns out great each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States