Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I didn't modify this other than using chicken broth instead of water (didn't add any extra salt then), and I used the fast boil/baking soda method to shorten the cook time. My 3-year-old had thirds! This is the one who doesn't even eat dinner usually! I thought it was super easy and tasty. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is one of my favorite soup recipes! The only ingredient I modified is the salt. The ham and ham bone add enough saltiness for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We really loved this recipe. I fixed it as written except I used less beans and substituted half the water for chicken broth b/c I Did NOT use the bone. I cooked it in my new electric pressure cooker which i love. Just put it all in, program it, and it comes out perfect every time. Such an easy way to cook dried beans! Will be fixing again but will use the full bag of beans as written next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Minus 10 in Minnesota - thumbs down. This recipe - thumbs up! We followed the recipe as written with the exception of using a carton of chicken broth in place of 4 cups of water. Delicious - simple and elegant. Thank you Pat Keene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MisDGurl
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is an easy recipe and full of flavor!! I will NEVER use a different recipe. My whole family loved the soup. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very simple with beautiful flavor. Like other reviewers, I used chicken broth and increased veggies from half to a full cup. I also used a total of 5 bay leaves, added thyme, and a pinch of savory. I did not have a ham bone, so I just threw in two strips of uncooked bacon for the flavor and fat. (I did use the diced ham.) I omitted the salt since it was in the broth. I threw everything in the pot brought it to a boil for 10 minutes and then low simmer for 1 hour with lid on. After, I took the lid off and let it cook down for added flavor for another 30 mins. Oh before I forget, I just soaked the beans overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Ham and bean soup was something my mother always made when I was growing up. Since moving out, I've missed things like the smell of her cooking. But since we're so health conscious, and don't eat pork, I tried things a little different. Chicken thigh meat instead if ham, low sodium, and fresh bell peppers. Red pepper flakes are delicious too if you like it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is great just the way it is written! My preference is a country or Smithfield ham bone/meat, but realize that they are not available everywhere. To put some of the ingredients that others suggest, ketchup, brown sugar, liquid smoke, etc., you must be kidding or from western PA like my husband who puts ketchup on everything. Please rate a recipe as written or post your own version as a separate recipe. Being a southern girl, this is the way to prepare navy bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I added chicken stock as some reviewers suggested, omitted the salt, and doubled the veggies. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
After cooking the beans, added a few cups of chicken broth as there was not enough liquid. Adding pepper as I served it made it perfect! This is definitely a go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States