Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
wonderful recipe. I used Kidney beans, due to the shortage of other kinds. Great chicken soup. I used the slow cooker to cook whole thing. The kale did not look as freshly green as it should , but it taste much better. I asked my friend to taste. At the first place, she was suspecticle at it. After taste it, she asked me to give her one quote to bring home for her family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Wow, I don't know where the flavor came from, but for such a simple recipe with low-impact ingredients, it all came together perfectly. I will make again and again for a delicious and healthy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
My husband suffers from macular degeneration and was told to eat as much kale as he possibly can. I've tried many different recipes but he enjoyed this more than any of the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
So good!!! Very healthy soup & suprisingly flavorful! I wanted to try kale, but was a bit hesitant to make this soup because it didn't look like it had enough "spice". I was SO wrong. This is a soup I can make again & again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Very tasty. I would only use 3 cups stock and 1 cup water if am to make it again. As you use the liquid from the beans the soup does not need added salt. I did add chilli flakes as another user mentioned as well as oregano. The soup is filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This soup is very healthy and tastes so great.My husband just loved it.The flavors mingle really well.Mixing part of the beans in a blender gives the soup the nice creamy look and taste.It is a keeper for my family.Chopping the veggies takes a bit of time.So I would recommend using a machine.Double the recipe and freeze the extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
LOVE IT!!! This is so healthy, low fat and delicious. I recently bought a high quality pressure cooker and don't know how I survived without it. I cooked the onions and garlic first and then added the spices and veggies. I used imagine vegetable broth which is an excellent broth. Then I cooked it in the pressure cooker for 10 min and so the kale is really soft and all the flavors infused through the soup. I have never blended beans for soup before and gave that a try and really felt it added something to the soup. I think it makes it more substantial. I also added a tbsp of fresh lemon juice at the end. My vegetarian daughter is thrilled with this and so am I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
SO good. I can't cook at all but now everyone thinks I can, after this soup! I didn't have a blender so I added hummus instead of the bean/broth mixture, and it was great. I also tried using 2 types of kale and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This is yummy. Kidney beans definitely work if you need a replacement. I use a can of diced tomatoes when tomatoes aren't their freshest. A little parmesan cheese sprinkled over the top makes for good presentation. I freeze excess and it tastes just as good when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Delicious even without the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States