Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this exactly the way it was written and it was a huge hit with my entire family!! (Actually, I take that back...I added a little turkey sausage for my husband who thinks a meal isn't complete without meat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curiosity!
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Fantastic hardy soup! The first time I made this I followed the receipt exactly and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having a craving for kale I decided to make it once again, however, made changes based on the ingredients I had on hand. In addition to onions and garlic, I added two finely sliced celery stocks in the saute. After the kale wilted down, I supplemented two finely sliced carrots, replaced the white beans with one can each of rinsed chick peas and black beans, substituted the plum tomatoes with one can of diced tomatoes and added approximately three square inches of chopped parmesan cheese rind. Since my pot was almost full, I topped it off with as much chicken broth that I could fit and simmered for two hours. When serving myself I put in a healthy squirt of Sriracha sauce, which I add to most of my home made meals as I like the kick of heat and flavour. Using less broth turns this into a substantial kale vegetable stew. This is an excellent base recipe that you can easily personalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curiosity!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adharamsi
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I added 1lb of Jimmy Dean Hot pork sausage and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh since I had it on hand. It was a hit, I got many compliments and requests for the recipe. I'll be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I'm giving it four stars because it's flexible and healthy. My family found it a bit bland, despite the garlic. Will try again and add a bit of either cooking sherry or red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
First time cooking with kale. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is one of our favorite soups. I added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes for some kick. Good way to get some kale in your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is my favorite soup! I'm 100% in love with this recipe!!! Even my husband who hates kale really likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Excellent easy recipe. Wouldn't change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
New to Kale, I decided to start with this recipe since you can never go wrong with soup. Delicious. Followed the recipe with the exception of Parsley (I didn't have any on hand). I also added a package of Butter Ball turkey smoked sausage. I loved the garlic flavor to the broth! I'm making it again this weekend to freeze in individual portions to have for weekday work lunches. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States