Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delish!!! I just made this with a few additions. I added carrots, zucchini and some pasta. Also added tomatoe sauce, I didn't have any tomatoes. It was the first time I ever had kale and it was wonderful. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Great soup - but the key is making your own broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Hearty and absolutely delicious! Tried the original recipe and it was perfection. I wanted to incorporate more vegetables in my diet so I added zucchini and okra...it only added to the myriad of flavors. I also added Scotch Bonnet pepper for some spice. I could eat this every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I omitted the onion and parsley- upped chicken broth to 7 cups, added 3/4 cup dry orzo and cubed uncooked chicken breasts and cooked it in my pressure cooker for 10 minutes. I also used canned tomatoes, because that's what I had. We sprinkled some fresh grated parmesan on and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was a really nice surprise. I should have chopped the kale smaller, but the flavor and ease of this recipe was great! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Better than I expected. It was quite flavorful given the simple ingredients and relatively easy to make. I will consider doubling and freezing half next time. I'm not experienced with kale so I did not include its thick ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
we both loved this soup! sooooo yummy! I changed this a LOT. 1) used a blend of dried beans that I bought from costco (soak night before, etc), 2) sauteed some onion, garlic, carrots...added the chopped up kale ...and more olive oil 3) also sauteed 2 red sweet peppers 4) when kale was wilted, added veg broth and beans (and blended a cup plus of beans and bean broth). add herbs de provence and parmesan cheese rind. served with grated parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Per our preference, it's a 4 as it's written. We preferred adding a 1 tsp red pepper flakes (we like a little spice to our food). We also cooked 4 pieces of no-nitrate thick cut black pepper, applewood smoked bacon, removed bacon after cooking and used the grease in place of oil to saute the garlic and onion then kale (finely chopped per others recommendations). We then topped with a piece of smoked gouda cheese but kids preferred Parmesan then crumbled bacon before serving and these minor changes made this a 5-star for us. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Loved this soup! Even though it doesn't require a lot of time to cook it still had flavor like it had simmered all day. I took some of the suggestions from others and cooked the kale a little longer and cut up into small pieces. I also waited until about 10 minutes from completion to add the tomatoes. At the end I added fresh grated parmesan cheese. So yummy on a cold January day but truthfully it was so good that I could eat it in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hebron, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used kidney beans and didn't use parsley. Also, I used baby kale, which requires no chopping. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States