Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by BB
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was a huge hit! I didnt have enough kale (which you need to be sure to use just leaves and cut into spoon size) so i added spinach. I also added 1/2 c of sliced carrots and celery as well as crumbled turkey sausage (I buy the Jimmy Dean fully cooked crumbled turkey sausage and keep in freezer for all uses.). We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I really hoped we would love this soup, since kale is so nutritious. But unfortunately my family did not care for this recipe. I ended up eating it for my lunches. I think it probably did taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Can certainly personalize to your liking, but totally delicious as is! Quick, easy and healthy and the whole family enjoys it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
A good and healthy soup. Fresh parsley is a MUST - it helps to camouflage the kale and balances out the flavours in the soup. I made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great recipe! Fast and simple to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Super flavor and easy soup and just gets better overnight. I subbed canned diced tomatoes for the roma (out of season), skipped adding salt since I didn't drain and rinse the beans and skipped blending because I like a brothy soup and why dirty a blender. Had it again for breakfast, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe! I've made it several times now and each time I do something a little different like adding chopped carrots, celery, and potatoes or vegetable alphabet pasta. I make it in my pressure cooker and it comes out tasting fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Just made this recipe today. I followed the recipe for the most part, except I used 7 teaspoons of minced garlic in the jar and added Italian sausage to it. Turned out yummy! I think there could've been a little more kale and maybe some diced up carrots. Otherwise, a really good recipe. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I'm always looking for other way to use kale. This is a great soup and tastes better the second day (if there is any left!). The recipe is good "as is" - I like it even better with a few additions. I add chopped carrots, celery and some roasted red pepper. Because local/homegrown tomatoes aren't available this time of year, I used pureed tomatoes instead (better than diced, in my opinion). I puree about 1/3 of the vegetables/beans to thicken the soup. Adding toasted orzo or other small pasta towards the end makes it a bit heartier. And adding lime juice and cilantro at the vey end boosts the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanamonkey
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I did this the lazy way and just threw it all in a pot. I also added 3 medium white potatoes and a large fresh sprig of rosemary. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States