Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This soup was so good!! I wanted to start using kale in my diet and was looking for a recipe that was simple to use. I read some reviews to get tips and followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have plum tomatoes but a chunky vegetable soup with them in it. I strained the soup and used the vegetables. I also had some mushrooms so sauted baby portabello mushrooms with the onions. This came out so well and definitely will make again. Thanks for the recipe now other kale recipes will have to live up to this standard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Love this soup! When I made it this time I did 3tsp of base to 4 cups of water to dilute the salty broth a bit. I also used 4 roma tomatoes, popped them in when the recipe calls and when they had cooked enough for the skin to peel pulled them out, peeled and chopped, then added them back in. I try to use fresh whenever possible. Topping with a touch of Parmesan (or three cheese blend) is tasty, and a good loaf of garlic/herb bread on the side. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Easy 15m w/lid on, 15m off Fine chop greens Added 1/4c fine shredded carrots At the end add 1tbsp lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I added Italian sausage and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was very good and I felt good eating such healthy soup. I will probably make again and play with the ingredients a bit to make it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was delicious. The only thing I changed was that I used a can if diced tomatoes cause I was too lazy to chop my own. Still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this exactly the way it was written and it was a huge hit with my entire family!! (Actually, I take that back...I added a little turkey sausage for my husband who thinks a meal isn't complete without meat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curiosity!
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Fantastic hardy soup! The first time I made this I followed the receipt exactly and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having a craving for kale I decided to make it once again, however, made changes based on the ingredients I had on hand. In addition to onions and garlic, I added two finely sliced celery stocks in the saute. After the kale wilted down, I supplemented two finely sliced carrots, replaced the white beans with one can each of rinsed chick peas and black beans, substituted the plum tomatoes with one can of diced tomatoes and added approximately three square inches of chopped parmesan cheese rind. Since my pot was almost full, I topped it off with as much chicken broth that I could fit and simmered for two hours. When serving myself I put in a healthy squirt of Sriracha sauce, which I add to most of my home made meals as I like the kick of heat and flavour. Using less broth turns this into a substantial kale vegetable stew. This is an excellent base recipe that you can easily personalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curiosity!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adharamsi
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I added 1lb of Jimmy Dean Hot pork sausage and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh since I had it on hand. It was a hit, I got many compliments and requests for the recipe. I'll be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I'm giving it four stars because it's flexible and healthy. My family found it a bit bland, despite the garlic. Will try again and add a bit of either cooking sherry or red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States