Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Add a cup of quinoa! I used this recipe to modify the recipe that came on the back of my "Bob's Red Mill" 13 bean soup, which called for 1-1.5 Tbsp Chili powder as the seasoning. Final combo-recipe worked out great. Thank you, the Kale and the garlic (I ended up using a whole head) helped turn it into a lovely flavorful vegetarian meal - my husband was impressed with all the flavor, despite no hamhock/chickenbroth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
super easy,even for a busy weeknight.Cheap & yummy..Not to mention my teens love it!Super yummy as is i wouldnt change a thing.A keeper for sure,Thnx for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I love this healthy soup. I had some kale and low-sodium chicken broth that I needed to use. The only change I made was a little veggie broth because I ran out of chicken broth. I will be making this soup again and again because it is the perfect batch to make on Sunday for lunches through the week. Tip: it is much better the 2nd and 3rd day, if you can keep people from eating it before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I was trying to get rid of frozen kale left in freezer along with cans of beans in the pantry. Came across this recipe that fit the situation. Family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Roslindale, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This is the second time I've made this soup and it's definitely a keeper. Did not have any tomatoes, so left them out ... and it was still super good. Also had a little bit of njuda sausage that I added, just because I had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I have made this twice since finding recipe last month. I LOVE this soup. Super easy and delicious. I followed the recipe 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavenderdejectedmoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I halved the recipe...I only had 1/2 an onion + 1 bunch kale which came to just over 2 cups worth... but used a whole ctn of stock and 2 regular tomatoes. shouldve added another can of beans because nobody would've known they were in there! i pureed 3/4 the kale because my hubs is leery of anything leafy & green lol but he'd eat it if it was pureed in soup so thats what I did. Didnt have fresh parsley but did have parm so a little sprinkle went on each bowl. will make this alot and play with ingredients a little bit...maybe some shell pasta a la minestrone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I added 1 more can of beans, Did a mix of both cannellini and navy beans, and added Sweet Italian sausage and served it with Shredded parmigian cheese. Everyone Loved it!!! HUGE hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GremlinQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this recipe with a few changes. I added mild sausage meat in the beginning, but I did not add any parsley (not the biggest fan). I chose not to buy the Italian seasoning as I have most of the herbs anyways. I added a teaspoon of liquid smoke as well. I also did not blend the beans and broth as I like my soups chunky. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Decided to rate this 5*. For us, it came up a bit short on flavor, as written, but can be easily adjusted to satisfy personal taste preferences. Added some orange-ginger seasoned salt & shredded Parmesan cheese, and what a difference this made. This is an extremely high nutritional dish with kale being among the top ANDI scorers. I was unsure as to how much chopped kale would equal 4 cups which turned out to be about one bunch if lightly pressed when measuring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 171-180 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States