Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe. I love thickening the soup with the beans. I actually used my immulsion blender and did the beans/broth in a separate small pan. I also used fresh beans instead of canned. I just did the quick-soak method and then simmered the soup for a couple of hours to let the flavors blend. I didn't add the tomatoes until near the end. Me and my 2 vegetarian sons loved it. I set aside some for my hubby and fried up some italian sausage and added that to his. I doubled the recipe and we'll all eat on it all week for lunches, quick dinners. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was a super easy dish to make and very nice veggie type soup. I cooked the soup about 30mins instead of only 15 mins like the recipe calls for...I might try adding cooked chicken to the soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
yum. I added some quinoa and it was super good. I used organic white beans too. A different bean would taste different, worth a try as well. I used a lot of kale, more than this calls for in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Good base. I thought it was very bland and lacked flavor. I had to add 2 more cans of beans, Nature's Seasoning, red pepper, and kielbasa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
All but Katie liked it. Nice and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was really good. I added a few carrots, a little white wine, and a few more spices. This is quick, filling and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My husband raved about this. My daughter, who usually isn't keen on soup had 2 helpings. I used frozen chopped kale for convenience. I also didn't bother taking the blender out. I just mashed 1 can of the beans a bit with a potato masher, right in the soup pot. This was easy and so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
The only kale recipe i will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Someone brought this to a church function and shared the recipe with everyone. I really loved it and assume that she made it as written. I will certainly be making this one for the family! Update 2/16/13: I finally made this for my family and it was delicious! The only change I made to the recipe was that I rinsed and drained the cannellini beans. To make the meal a little more substantial, we served it with quinoa (the two mixed together tasted fabulous!). My 5 year old said, "That was definitely a 5 star meal!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Delicious & health! I sauted 3 large leeks & 1/2 diced potato with the onion & garlic. I then pureed all of it with 1/2 of the beans & it thickened the soup nicely! I have made this twice now--cooking the kale until really tender takes at least 15 minutes and is worth the wait Great with crusty bread & sliced tomatoes w/balsamic vinegar--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States