Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Since we took part a CSA this year, we've had far more kale than we've seen in our lives. This recipe is great for annihilating it. I usually add 1-2 cans of diced tomatoes rather than fresh, and throw in some chopped zucchini. I seem to add red pepper flakes to everything because I like the heat, and this get a teaspoon as well. The flavor is great, and my husband inhales it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
My first thoughts before I ever made this recipe was that this is going to be nasty. I don't like beans. I'm not fond of greens in my soup. But when I made it, WOW. It's a really good soup! 3 out of 4 of my kids even ate it! I'll definitely make this again when I have extra kale. One thing I did do differently, I added more chicken broth and shredded chicken breasts because my husband won't eat a meal without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I made this soup as written, but I did forget the Italian herb seasoning. I made half a recipe to test it out. It is fabulous. I wish I had made the entire amount. I did, however, increase the cooking time, because I like softer kale. I will make this again and I will still leave out the Italian herbs. Very good without, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
impressively good! this super healthy recipe doesn't taste "healthy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
THIS WAS FAST AND EASY. I PUT A LITTLE TO MUCH ITALIAN SEASONING .OVER ALL REALLY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I love this soup! It actually made me a kale lover! I usually dont have tomatoes just laying around, so when I am in the mood for this, I just use 1 can of diced tomatoes instead. And occasionally I sautee chicken and add it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
AMAZING!!!! So delicious even my 11 year old son ate it. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I really liked this. I used baby kale from the farmer's market, so there was no problem with the big vein running down the middle of the leaf. Great flavor, spices were just right, didn't even have to add extra salt. Tomatoes do get a little mushy, so if you like firmer tomatoes, don't add them until the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Perfect. My family loved and I was pleased because it is healthy and easy to make!fyi when shopping parsley is for garnish, I bought it and didn't end up using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I loved this soup! It was so very flavorful. I did use a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. I also used 2 cups veggie broth (I only had two cups left prepared) and 2 cans of chicken broth. This came out to an extra cup or so over what the recipe called for. Most importantly, heed the other recommendations, this needs to simmer much longer in order to have the kale tender enough. I simmered mine (covered to avoid too much evaporation) for almost 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States