Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This Was great. I used dried beans instead of canned to avoid the sodium. I also cooked my beans with smoked turkey to add flavor. I added celery and carrots as well. Before serving, I added a orzo to each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe. I love thickening the soup with the beans. I actually used my immulsion blender and did the beans/broth in a separate small pan. I also used fresh beans instead of canned. I just did the quick-soak method and then simmered the soup for a couple of hours to let the flavors blend. I didn't add the tomatoes until near the end. Me and my 2 vegetarian sons loved it. I set aside some for my hubby and fried up some italian sausage and added that to his. I doubled the recipe and we'll all eat on it all week for lunches, quick dinners. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was a super easy dish to make and very nice veggie type soup. I cooked the soup about 30mins instead of only 15 mins like the recipe calls for...I might try adding cooked chicken to the soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
yum. I added some quinoa and it was super good. I used organic white beans too. A different bean would taste different, worth a try as well. I used a lot of kale, more than this calls for in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Good base. I thought it was very bland and lacked flavor. I had to add 2 more cans of beans, Nature's Seasoning, red pepper, and kielbasa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
All but Katie liked it. Nice and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was really good. I added a few carrots, a little white wine, and a few more spices. This is quick, filling and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My husband raved about this. My daughter, who usually isn't keen on soup had 2 helpings. I used frozen chopped kale for convenience. I also didn't bother taking the blender out. I just mashed 1 can of the beans a bit with a potato masher, right in the soup pot. This was easy and so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
The only kale recipe i will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Someone brought this to a church function and shared the recipe with everyone. I really loved it and assume that she made it as written. I will certainly be making this one for the family! Update 2/16/13: I finally made this for my family and it was delicious! The only change I made to the recipe was that I rinsed and drained the cannellini beans. To make the meal a little more substantial, we served it with quinoa (the two mixed together tasted fabulous!). My 5 year old said, "That was definitely a 5 star meal!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States