Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was yummy, nothing special in the flavor dept, but good, and super nutritious! My 3yo and I ate it with toasted slices of hearty Italian bread from Puglia. We scooped it onto the bread which had been drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with salt. Yum. For my 3yo I chopped the kale smaller than I normally would have, but I ended up liking it that way too. Never would have thought I'd get my toddler to eat kale, so this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dardago, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Great variation on standard navy/white bean soup. In enjoyed the 1st batch as-is but made a few tweaks to the 2nd batch: - I prefer hearty soups so I doubled the beans and eased off on the chicken broth; - I used cherry tomatoes (since I keep those on hand) and ended up really liking the difference in texture (canned tomatoes also work decently but I was less a fan); and - I added dried parsley directly into the soup with the other seasonings and made sure to adequately salt (~1/2 to 1 tsp). In short, this is a great winter soup I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This soup is easy, delicious, inexpensive to make, and full of nutrients. What more could you ask for. I sauteed some turkey sausage slices along with the onion and garlic, which gave it a delicious extra seasoning, then removed the sausage and set it aside while finishing the rest of the soup. I didn't have any decent-looking tomatoes so I just dumped in a 15-oz can of diced tomatoes, which worked fine. Lastly, I found it necessary to add more broth toward the end, because I like to cook down broths to increase the flavor...so I concentrated it and then added another cup and a half or so later to thin it out. Yum. My family ate this all up in one night, so when I make it again I will probably double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
we cooked this in our Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden classes this week and it was quite a hit with all primary school classes.We used tinned tomatoes as our own tomatoes aren't in season just yet and used a stick blender for a few seconds to give the broth a thicker texture while leaving it chunky. this is definitely going on our seasonal menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have made this several times & wouldn't change a thing! My sister says this soup is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Soup was a little heavy on the onion and garlic side for me, but otherwise good. Flavors really improved after a day or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Excellent on a cold Fall night!! I did use 4 cans (14oz,) chicken broth, used 2 cans of cannellini beans in the soup whole and the pureed 1 can of can of cannellini beans, first time that I ever had kale and the soup was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
perfect soup for a cold cloudy day, very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I thought this was basically very good - though just a tad on the bland side... I took others' advice and added some carrots and a bit of red pepper flake, but it needed something more... on my second bowl I decided to add a touch of celery seed and, voila', that made a world of difference and added just that little something extra. I will definitely make this again, as I'm trying to do more meatless dishes to try to incorporate healthier eating habits. Thank you for sharing :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States