Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I tried this recipe because I was looking for different uses of kale. This hearty soup did not disappoint. I made the recipe exactly, and it was very tasty. For my personal preference, I simmered the soup a lot longer (about 15 minutes with the lid off to concentrate the flavor, and then about 20 minutes with the lid on) because even with the tough ribs removed, the kale took a while to become tender. Additionally, I always cook any soups and pasta sauces ahead of time so the flavors can develop overnight. It truly makes a big difference, and it's a nice to treat to have lunch or dinner made in advance! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This is yummy. Kidney beans definitely work if you need a replacement. I use a can of diced tomatoes when tomatoes aren't their freshest. A little parmesan cheese sprinkled over the top makes for good presentation. I freeze excess and it tastes just as good when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
LOVE IT!!! This is so healthy, low fat and delicious. I recently bought a high quality pressure cooker and don't know how I survived without it. I cooked the onions and garlic first and then added the spices and veggies. I used imagine vegetable broth which is an excellent broth. Then I cooked it in the pressure cooker for 10 min and so the kale is really soft and all the flavors infused through the soup. I have never blended beans for soup before and gave that a try and really felt it added something to the soup. I think it makes it more substantial. I also added a tbsp of fresh lemon juice at the end. My vegetarian daughter is thrilled with this and so am I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is really great. The first time I made it I used collard greens instead of kale because they looked so good at the farmer's market and my boyfriend gobbled it up, despite the fact he normally won't eat things with beans or tomatoes in them. The second time I added a pinch of cayenne pepper and a blend of collards, turnip greens, spinach and musard greens. YUM! It also freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by killerbroccoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
It was quite good! I served it over brown rice instead of as soup. The only change was that I used canned tomatoes because that is what I had. One word of advice, chop the kale pretty small because I didn't and I regretted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This soup was YUMMY!!!! My super picky husband actually fought me for the leftovers. I only changed it a small bit. I put two cans of beans and added a few cut up carrots. Also, I substituted Herbs de Provence (with an extra pinch of rosemary) for italian season... its sounds subtle but makes a world of difference. Also I didn't put quite as much garlic. Really good with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Very tasty. I would only use 3 cups stock and 1 cup water if am to make it again. As you use the liquid from the beans the soup does not need added salt. I did add chilli flakes as another user mentioned as well as oregano. The soup is filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was really a good surprise. So easy to prepare and tasting. I only had one jar of cannellini beans so I pureed that with the broth and for the other can I used garbanzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
So good!!! Very healthy soup & suprisingly flavorful! I wanted to try kale, but was a bit hesitant to make this soup because it didn't look like it had enough "spice". I was SO wrong. This is a soup I can make again & again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Freaking GOOD. Add sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States