Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I made this recipe today and it was a total hit! My entire family (including the kids, ages 10 and under) loved it and even asked for seconds! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand: added boneless chicken thighs cut up small to hot oil, added carrots, celery, six fresh large ripe tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes, only one can of beans and chopped up the kale into small pieces as others recommended, 8 cups total of chicken broth,1 extra tsp of Italian seasoning, 1 tbsp of Vegeta (soup seasoning) and added 1 cup of small bowtie pasta a few minutes before it was all done. Did not blend any ingredients. It turned out amazing! It tastes like high end restaurant quality soup for sure! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Kale can replaced with cabbage, escarole, collards, or mustards. pretty much whatever green you have in the garden. I also reduce the stock and add carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
super easy and super tasty. Will definitely make this one again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This soup had great flavors. Used fresh Roma tomatoes and kale from the local farmers market. I didn't thicken the soup with the beans and broth and I added a pinch or two of red pepper flakes for a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is a very easy soup to make and I always have these ingredients on hand anyway. Works well with any beans. I agree that it is better with kale cut smaller. There are so many ways to vary this based on what you have on hand. this is super easy with exception of the blender. would be much easier with immersion blender I assume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great recipe! Very healthy, fast and easy to cook. Definitely makimg it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I really liked this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Add some carrots for color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Loved it! I had some left over fresh collards and used that instead the first time I made it. My 20 year old son and I couldn't get enough of it. Used the fresh kale the second time and found the leaves too tough. I sauteed it longer and cooked it in the soup longer and was still too tough. I will still make this again using a different green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugaSuga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Used only Cannellini beans from the can and the rest were fresh items . Added fresh cut carrots with the onions and garlic to saute .2 Vegetable cubes were substituted for the low fat ,low sodiun chicken or vegetable broth . My husband absolutely loved it and the smell in the kitchen too .Took some to my co worker and she was like " Please bring me this recipe ."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States