Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Just made this recipe today. I followed the recipe for the most part, except I used 7 teaspoons of minced garlic in the jar and added Italian sausage to it. Turned out yummy! I think there could've been a little more kale and maybe some diced up carrots. Otherwise, a really good recipe. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I'm always looking for other way to use kale. This is a great soup and tastes better the second day (if there is any left!). The recipe is good "as is" - I like it even better with a few additions. I add chopped carrots, celery and some roasted red pepper. Because local/homegrown tomatoes aren't available this time of year, I used pureed tomatoes instead (better than diced, in my opinion). I puree about 1/3 of the vegetables/beans to thicken the soup. Adding toasted orzo or other small pasta towards the end makes it a bit heartier. And adding lime juice and cilantro at the vey end boosts the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanamonkey
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I did this the lazy way and just threw it all in a pot. I also added 3 medium white potatoes and a large fresh sprig of rosemary. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
loved it! Added a little ginger and drained my beans. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is a quick soup to make and I like the kale. I make it with extra kale(I double the recipe amount). I also make it vegetarian style using a chicken broth substitute. It is great with a piece of good whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
DIVINE!!! Sounds so simple but it's SO flavorful! I added carrots and used white and red navy beans. Served with Organic Rustic Garlic Bread and Balsamic Vinegar. Now my husband and I's FAVORITE soup! Very hearty and filling. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
delicious!!! I AM IN LOVE! I am new to kale. Starting to eat less calories, less meat based foods through the week, we are a meat, starch, and veggie family but with each meal, with the exception of breakfast (sometimes!!), and this is one of my new found favorites. It is FILLING, and sticks with us, doesn't fill us up and wear off in an hour after eating. Of course we have some bread with it, but hey, it's still delicious and healthy too! I used chicken bouillon since I had no veg. or chic. stock, added more kale, an extra clove of garlic and used scallions and yellow onion. I used a few extra cups of stock (mix), and a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes with juice left in it, and drained 2 cans of cannellini beans and 1 can of chick peas (peeled, i can't stand the skins on them!), added a teaspoon more of the italian seasoning and it was SOOO yummy. It would be amazing by the original directions, but I just went with it and then some. I LOVE all recipes.com, it is the best place to get great recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Great! I didn't have cannellini beans, but used a 16-bean soup mix instead. Also threw in some cubed ham for the carnivores in the family. So easy & satisfying- will be making this frequently this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I had Kale in my fridge because I like to make green smoothies but got tired of having a beverage for a meal. I googled Kale recipes and found this one. It is very delicious, filling and low priced and low fat! I also had left over rotisserie chicken that I shredded and threw in the pot. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This soup is wonderful. I add chopped carrots and a bit of diced red pepper in to the saute at the beginning to give it more vegetables......Healthy and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States