Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I was looking for another way to use kale and was pleasantly surprised that this soup was even better than I'd hoped it would be. Next time I'll add even more kale, as it can handle it. It would be delicious with chopped ham added, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My Italian Grandmother used to make "Bean Soup" every Friday, especially during Lent. This tastes so much like it; it took me back to my childhood. She used cauliflower instead of Kale, but the taste is the same and the Kale gives it a nice color and used tomato paste, instead of chopped tomatoes. But, really it is basically the same recipe. She always mashed all of the beans, even in her Italian version of Chili. It makes the soup so full-bodied. Her "Bean Soup" was served over homemade Graham Bread. She filled a big bowl with a whole loaf of chunked up Graham Bread and then poured the pot of soup over it. The bread soaked up the soup and it was very substantial. I think when I make this next time, I will add a bit of bulgur wheat. It has the same taste as the Graham Bread. I do that when I make Grandma's soup. It adds a nice nutty flavor and also is very healthy. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made this tonight. Wasn't thrilled about blending the beans but had no idea they were even there. I could not taste the kale which is a huge plus. I added tomatoes and red peppers and it really sweetened it up. My carnivorous husband had seconds. I will be making this weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Excellent as written. Will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Fine and dandy but use organic ingredients to prepare this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I loved this! It was surprisingly filling for a light, vegetarian soup. I loved the kale, tomato, and white bean combination. I also think it's genius to puree some of the beans to thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Huge fan of this soup! My brother and pregnant sister-in-law were coming over for dinner with their three year old, and my husband and I are vegetarians. My brother gave the kale a look as if I had dropped a mouse into his soup, but after one bite, he was hooked. All the adults ended up going back for seconds, and in my proudest moment of the night, the three year old tried her mom's soup and declared "Oh mama, I like this!" I followed the recipe pretty closely. We are huge garlic fans, so the amount requested was not too much for us, although we do typically use more garlic than many recipes call for, so if you are sensitive to garlic - consider using less. I also added in 8oz of crimini mushrooms and one can of diced tomatoes at my brother's request. For broth, I prefer the Better Than Bullion "No Chicken Base" for vegetarian soups. It has a much better flavor than many mushroom based broths, and a little goes a long way! I let the soup simmer about 30 min instead of 15, but it was still pretty tasty at 15 minutes. We topped ours with a few scallions instead of parsley, and we served this with a crusty sourdough bread. The next day - the leftovers were even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent! Love how simple this was to make and the flavor is amazing. Ended up skipping the broth. This will be a regular for us. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Great recipe! It is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delish!!! I just made this with a few additions. I added carrots, zucchini and some pasta. Also added tomatoe sauce, I didn't have any tomatoes. It was the first time I ever had kale and it was wonderful. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States