Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
add feta!!! It makes all the difference. I also used a can of Ro-Tel(lime & cilantro) in place of lime juice and salsa. I eat it as a dip with blue corn chips. Yums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was quite good! My boyfriend made it for just the two of us, so we used one can of 6 bean blend and scaled everything else down. It had a great spicy flavour and the corn was the best part, a great contrast to the texture of the beans. Next time I'll add cilantro, I think it would go perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is a great dip, but I had a few changes. First off, take away the veg. oil, there is no need for it. Remove the garbanzo beans. Replace with chili (spelling?) beans. Double the lime juice. Salsa increased to 12oz, and add a teaspoon of chives (or one shoot of freshly chopped scallion [green onion]). Add 2 (or 3) chopped, pickled jalapeños. Add a pinch of salt and a bit of ground black pepper. Much better! :D 4/5 for my recipe. I will be modifying again next time. Will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamas Soup Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I'm always on the lookout for new bean recipes, and this one was pretty good. I'm only making meals for two, and I used dry beans, so I cut down the amount of beans by half. I didn't have any salsa, so I chopped up a few tomatoes.. (they weren't overly juicy, so it still seemed slightly lacking in the liquid department.. but that was my fault..) I made a basic pico de gallo as the salsa, (tomatoes, jalapeno, onion, lots and lots of cilantro and garlic). I used the full amount of everything else, and I added half a red pepper, and half a yellow pepper. Hubby said that he liked it a lot, but it was missing 'something'... I think it was salt... because I used dried beans.. I'll probably make it again.. but my recipe box has SOOOO many recipes in it that I want to try... who knows when I'll get around to it.. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very tasty! This is another one that needs to "marinate" for a few days. Stretched the half-jar of salsa I had with some red wine vinegar and used a bag of prepared "mixed beans," which were navy, pinto and I think kidney. Once I had it in the storage container I sprinkled some Frank's Red Hot on top. I'd like it hotter, but for most it probably already has plenty of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I only rate this four stars because I altered the recipe. I left out the garbanzo beans and added an extra can of pinto beans. I also took other reviewers' advice and substituted the parsley with cilantro. I didn't have cumin that day so I added curry, along with a few splashes of pineapple juice. Everyone who has tried this loved it! I enjoy it added to salads for a nice kick. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orchadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was a good recipe. It makes quite a bit so be prepared to share it with everyone or eat it for days. The seasonings were very good on the beans and may even taste wonderful in some type of Mexican dish, whether tacos, burritos, or nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I'm rating according to my adjustments: I only used black & pinto beans (2 cans ea), omitted the parsley and instead added about 4T chopped cilantro, 2 chopped jalapenos, and lots of extra lime juice + a total of about 6 oz of the salsa (I found it WAY too dry)... that being said - we really enjoyed it, and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I found it a little bland, but I loved how it kept its consistency and didn't get mushy. A friend suggested frying up the ground yak I had in the freezer and that enhanced it noticeably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Honestly, if you get gas, you probably want to have some Beano on hand, because this is so good I don't want to stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States