Bean Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
SO EZ & DELICIOUS--I MADE THIS CHRISTMAS MORN, JUST AS AN EXTRA FOR THE ALWAYS HUNGREY MEN--IT WAS SO QUICK TO PUT TOGETHER, VERY TASTY. ADDED FEW SPLASHES OF HOT SAUCE, BUT ONLY BECAUSE WE ARE IN THE SOUTH, IT'S NOT NECESSARY. OH,ALSO EXCHANED SOME OF THE RED BEANS WITH GAZ'POs (as other reviewers suggested) FOR APPEARANCE & VARIETY. IF ANY IS LEFT, MAKES A GREAT SIDE TO DINNER NEXT DAY. REALLY ENJOYED-THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING %)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Thank you Kathy! What a find for me. I live in Massachusetts and when I go out to dinner I eat so much of the relish the tray needs to be refilled. Now I can have it at home. Since there are just the two of us I had to change the the amounts and it was a little too moist-I think I should have drained my relish more carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. I also grew up in New England and this bean relish was served at a local Scituate restaurant. I started thinking about it and couldn't get it out of my head and then I saw this recepe and said...THATS IT!!! Yeah, It's so good and easy. My favorite is served with good old ritz style crackers. Thanks again, Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
i love beans . i tried them many ways,but this is the best way i have ever eaten beans ,and yes they are addictive.i ate a full cup ,in one sitting.i am going to make the full batch now...THANK YOU,THANK YOU,THANK YOU,.KATHY W FOR THIS WONDERFUL, DELICIOUS,AND MY SONS WORD FOR IT WOULD BE AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Lake, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is amazing! I didn't have dry mustard, so I just used a little of the real thing (sorry if this is a no-no in the New England version--if so, forgive me, I'm from Illinois!). The mustard and sweet relish give such a great flavor to this dish. The nice thing about this dish is that it's one of those that doesn't really require measuring--just add ingredients to taste. I used dried beans to cut back on the sodium a little, and mashed them up just a little. We ate it with Wheat Thin crackers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
kathy W. I worked for years at the Margueray(sp) in Ipswich mass. around 1960
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This makes a ton, but you can cut the recipe down. Try this once and you will get hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and it still made a ton. Keeping to the recipe, I refrigerated it for a couple of hours before giving it a try. It tasted pretty boring at that point, but the next day...! It was a completely changed dish! The directions should read, "Refrigerate overnight." This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Scaled it down to 3 servings and used 2 cans of beans. Unfortunately (or fortunately), I only had 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of garbanzo beans. Let it sit overnight and had some as a salad for lunch. Fantastic! I will try it with crackers as an appetizer, but it was real yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was tasty, and easy to make. I cant say that this was a dish I couldn't stop eating, I rate it good, but not the best.I can say that the photo shown did not match the recipe exactly. I think the photo shows garbanzo beans? This was a nice change. ****Ive change this to 5 stars instead of 4****** Reason being.... I let it sit over night, and it really made a difference in the taste, and I think this is one of my favorite side items now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Heilder, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States