Bean Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
looks like a very nice n simple recepie. i would like to do it as well but one question though what is a sweet relish???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and it still made a ton. Keeping to the recipe, I refrigerated it for a couple of hours before giving it a try. It tasted pretty boring at that point, but the next day...! It was a completely changed dish! The directions should read, "Refrigerate overnight." This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
kathy W. I worked for years at the Margueray(sp) in Ipswich mass. around 1960
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is amazing! I didn't have dry mustard, so I just used a little of the real thing (sorry if this is a no-no in the New England version--if so, forgive me, I'm from Illinois!). The mustard and sweet relish give such a great flavor to this dish. The nice thing about this dish is that it's one of those that doesn't really require measuring--just add ingredients to taste. I used dried beans to cut back on the sodium a little, and mashed them up just a little. We ate it with Wheat Thin crackers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
i love beans . i tried them many ways,but this is the best way i have ever eaten beans ,and yes they are addictive.i ate a full cup ,in one sitting.i am going to make the full batch now...THANK YOU,THANK YOU,THANK YOU,.KATHY W FOR THIS WONDERFUL, DELICIOUS,AND MY SONS WORD FOR IT WOULD BE AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Lake, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Thank you Kathy! What a find for me. I live in Massachusetts and when I go out to dinner I eat so much of the relish the tray needs to be refilled. Now I can have it at home. Since there are just the two of us I had to change the the amounts and it was a little too moist-I think I should have drained my relish more carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
SO EZ & DELICIOUS--I MADE THIS CHRISTMAS MORN, JUST AS AN EXTRA FOR THE ALWAYS HUNGREY MEN--IT WAS SO QUICK TO PUT TOGETHER, VERY TASTY. ADDED FEW SPLASHES OF HOT SAUCE, BUT ONLY BECAUSE WE ARE IN THE SOUTH, IT'S NOT NECESSARY. OH,ALSO EXCHANED SOME OF THE RED BEANS WITH GAZ'POs (as other reviewers suggested) FOR APPEARANCE & VARIETY. IF ANY IS LEFT, MAKES A GREAT SIDE TO DINNER NEXT DAY. REALLY ENJOYED-THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING %)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was tasty, and easy to make. I cant say that this was a dish I couldn't stop eating, I rate it good, but not the best.I can say that the photo shown did not match the recipe exactly. I think the photo shows garbanzo beans? This was a nice change. ****Ive change this to 5 stars instead of 4****** Reason being.... I let it sit over night, and it really made a difference in the taste, and I think this is one of my favorite side items now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Heilder, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is a classic recipe! I also grew up in Massachusetts and have had this at many different restaurants around town. I even see it at the local grocery stores now-a-days labeled as Boston Bean Dip. When I make it, I like to put about 1/2 the beans into a food processor to smooth out the consistency. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. I also grew up in New England and this bean relish was served at a local Scituate restaurant. I started thinking about it and couldn't get it out of my head and then I saw this recepe and said...THATS IT!!! Yeah, It's so good and easy. My favorite is served with good old ritz style crackers. Thanks again, Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States