Bean Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is easy & wonderful. I love the mashed potato enchiladas I get at a local restaurant so this recipe was what I was looking for. Try adding in some frozen corn or a can of mexicorn or a small can of diced green chiles. I love that you can play with this to your taste. I used a 14 oz can of enchilada sauce and think the increased sauce is best because the yummy sauce is what makes it enchiladas. I also sauted the onions like other reviewers and it worked great. Not sure how it would have tasted with the raw onions. Saved to my recipe box and I'll make it often. Thanks LauraKKH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkin Pie Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I had to give this a four, because we took everyone's advice and did NOT go with mashed potatoes. Instead I roasted the potatoes in a little oil and half the taco seasoning, at 450, for 1/2 hour. Mixed other half of seasoning with beans. I also skipped the onions and sprinkled with scallions, afterward, just cuz that's what we had. Served with sour cream. Substituted all cheddar with feta on top, again cuz that's what we had. That worked fine. And I would definitely like this served with shredded lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Yummy. I use small flour tortillas and skip the frying in oil. My vegetarian daughters often request this and it is great the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was a fantastic recipe. I did a few adaptations. In the skillet, I used a can of refried beans, threw in a couple tablespoons of diced jalapenos and diced garlic cloves, and used a combination of diced, cooked potatoes and sweet potatoes. I just added the diced potatoes to the beans mixture, rather than mashing them first. I also added a cup of leftover shredded chicken. I had Muenster cheese on hand, which I used rather than the Jack. This recipe is easy to adapt to whatever you may have on hand. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is one of our new favorites! Like other reviewers, I left out the milk and oil and didn't mash the potatoes. I slightly mashed some of the beans. Also, I used Bush's chili beans and didn't drain them. I left the cheese out of the inside and just sprinkled on top before baking. This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe!! Definitely will make enchiladas this way from now on thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
i make this all the time. we loveeeeee it. its on our monthly meal list. i actually prefer the mashed potatoes over cubed. unlike most of the reviewers. & i came across these habanero flour tortillas at trader joes that are really good with this recipes. We love black olives so we toss some on at the end when you put the rest of the shredded cheese on, its really good like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
We love these. The only thing we do different is we lightly sautée the onions before adding to the burrito mix because they are too raw for us otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was very good! I sauteed the onion and a little green pepper before adding it to the potato mixture. We had some left over and used it for a quesadilla the next day and it was good there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is a good basic recipe that can be adjusted to suite your taste. I will definitly make this again but will be adding some additons for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States