Bean and Tomato Stew with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I actually thought this was delicious. I cut back on the olive oil and upped the garlic. I also used fresh sage (which I think made a big difference). I subbed butter beans, as well. This recipe hit my requirements for being cheap and easy, as well as reasonably healthy. I will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Made this for lunch today as I had all the ingredients on hand. Substitued fresh sage and thyme for the dried because I had it available in my garden pots. Very tasty! I almost ate the whole thing myself. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This dish tastes absolutely fantastic! Only complaint that I have is that it doesn't feed four! I used a 19-oz can for both the beans and the tomatoes, and it only fed me 3 times :( haha looks like I'll just haveto make it again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I made this last night. It was a cool and rainy day. This was perfect with baked chicken and roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Delicious!!! One of the yummiest things I've ever made. I don't like meat, and I wanted to make something yummy and vegetarian for 4 friends who practically live on steak. We all LOVED this. So easy to make, too. Served with fresh breadrolls. Highly recommended :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I thought I was only going to like not love this based on other reviews. WRONG! I love it. Perfect comfort food for a cold and rainy day. Very easy to make with my pantry staples. Only thing I changed was to use fresh herbs but I almost always do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
yummy with lots of herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This recipe is quite good, and is also cheap, easy, fast, tasty and healthy - an all-around winner! It was a little salty, even without any added salt, so I might rinse the beans off next time to get rid of some of the salt. I agree with another reviewer that the mixture of herbs was strong, but I liked it that way. I also used a ton of garlic. I thought about doubling the tomatoes because I really like tomatoes, but I tasted the mixture after adding the beans, and the balance of beans vs. tomatoes was perfect. I ate almost the whole thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I doubled everything except the beans, and added a 1/2 bag of frozen corn. Served this over parmesan couscous. Quite tasty, very easy, very quick, and very economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was really good! I rinsed my beans and added a little bit of chicken broth and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States