Bean and Tomato Stew with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I did stray from the recipe by adding some onion and hot turkey sausage. Overall this was easy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelter37

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This soup was easy to make which is why I chose it. I think some recipes with a few more ingredients end up tasting better, but overall this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was great served over Protein enriched thin spaghetti that had been seasoned with a little EVOO, butter,parsley & garlic,and black pepper, and Parmesan cheese. Will become a family standard based on taste, economy,and nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I added some italian sausage and it was super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I just finished eating a bowl of this stew. I'm a vegetarian, so this dish is perfect for me! I've never cooked with sage before, but both the smell and taste are absolutely delicious! I couldn't find the cannellini beans called for in the recipe, so I went on the advice of someone elses previous review and bought garbanzo beans. I am NOT a big bean eater, but the ingredients sounded delicious together. I loved the tomato, sage, and thyme flavor combination, but I was not crazy about the beans at all! (I doubled the recipe to 8 servings, which called for 2 cans of beans. One would have been more than enough for me.) The sage gave it a nice winter-time taste, but I will probably not make this again unless my boyfriend requests it. It has a great flavor, but not too crazy about the beans! I substituted chicken broth for white wine, and it tasted fine that way, but I would recommend cutting back a little bit on the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I actually thought this was delicious. I cut back on the olive oil and upped the garlic. I also used fresh sage (which I think made a big difference). I subbed butter beans, as well. This recipe hit my requirements for being cheap and easy, as well as reasonably healthy. I will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This recipe is quite good, and is also cheap, easy, fast, tasty and healthy - an all-around winner! It was a little salty, even without any added salt, so I might rinse the beans off next time to get rid of some of the salt. I agree with another reviewer that the mixture of herbs was strong, but I liked it that way. I also used a ton of garlic. I thought about doubling the tomatoes because I really like tomatoes, but I tasted the mixture after adding the beans, and the balance of beans vs. tomatoes was perfect. I ate almost the whole thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I omitted the sage and used some basil. It tasted a lot like italian spaghetti sauce. Might have been a lot better if I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Ortiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This gets three stars only because it was so easy to make and I had everything in the pantry. The taste is at the most two stars (this after using fresh sage), but it served its purpose as a quick dinner for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I'm at a loss for words... 2 stars is a generous rating from me for this recipe. I didn't like this stew at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States