Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This was really good soup. I made some changes too. I cooked the sausage and added to the soup first to add flavor. Also I added approx 1 T chili powder, and 1 can of tomatoe sauce and I didn't have the white wine. I left out the frozen peas too because there seemed to be a lot of peas in the bag of mixed beans. Next time I will cook the beans longer on the stove as others have done because they weren't quite done at dinner time. All in all, the soup was a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy VanScoyk Foreacre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
It was Great. I only made the following changes: the bean pkge I purchased was 1#; had no white wine at home (so left out) and used only 1# of cajun seasoned sausage, since that is all I had. SDamare (Slidell, LA)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I love this recipe. Living in colorado I love to find a good soup recipe for the cold and snowy winters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This soup was great!! My husband raved about it. I followed the recipe with a few exceptions-used canned beans rather than dried (easier that way) and did not put in peas as we do not like them. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This soup was great. We had it on one of the first cool nights of the fall and it was perfect. I substituted the wine with chicken broth and it still tasted good. I also used hot italian pork sausage and removed it from the casings so the soup has sausagey meatballs. Next time I would cut the recipe by a third though because it didn't all fit into my crock pot (I have the larger one) and I had to finish it in a pot on the stove. But I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
This soup was a big hit at my house. It has a wonderful flavor and is very satisfying. I recommend cooking the beans a little longer before putting them in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
excellent--beans and sausage can't be beat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
This recipe must definitely be cooked longer. I gave mine a headstart by boiling on the stove for about 1 1/2 hrs first then putting in crockpot. I plan on adding rice and kielbasa sausage the next time I cook this one. I won Honorable Mention in the Chili/Soup Cookoff at my office with this recipe. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
Everyone loved this one. I personally thought it was a bit salty, would cut down on the salt next time. But it was an overall hit at our house. Kids like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I adapted this recipe for the stovetop, and it couldn't be easier or faster or more delicious! I used canned beans and tomatoes, frozen vegetables for the rest (except onion). And it took only about 1/2 hour to cook on the stovetop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States