Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This was really good soup. I made some changes too. I cooked the sausage and added to the soup first to add flavor. Also I added approx 1 T chili powder, and 1 can of tomatoe sauce and I didn't have the white wine. I left out the frozen peas too because there seemed to be a lot of peas in the bag of mixed beans. Next time I will cook the beans longer on the stove as others have done because they weren't quite done at dinner time. All in all, the soup was a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I thought this was pretty good but I had to make some modifications because my slow cooker wasn't big enough for everything to fit. I used 2 cans of mixed beans so I wouldn't have to worry about them being cooked. I used about 2 tsp each basil and oregano and added a bay leaf. I think I only added about 1/3 cup of wine and I left out the peas all together. We put a litte grated parmesan chesse and cracked black pepper on at serving time and it was very good. It hit the spot on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Soup could be improved by cooking "Beans" completely before adding the tomatoes! Adding tomatoes too soon hardens the shells and makes soup too crunchy! I tried this recipe several times following the directions and the result was the same. Hard Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Tripp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Don't understand all the whining about this recipe. It is quite good. BUT I did make some adjustments that probably ensured its success. Tomatoes and wine are acidic and will halt the cooking of legumes. Cook the beans for an hour or two; then let them rest in the refrigerator before turning them into the crockpot with the acids. Also because of the long cooking time, don't chop the vegetables--chunk them. Make the pieces big enough to fit on a spoon. Dicing or chopping means they will disintegrate during long cooking time. Finally, I wasn't happy with the consistency at finish. I wanted a thicker soup. So before adding the sausage, I pureed about three cups of beans, then returned the mixture to the soup for the hearty bean soup I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This reipe really depends on how fast your slow cooker cooks! I had soaked the beans overnight, cooked them for almost 18 hours, and they still tasted tough and flavorless. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunland, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
It was Great. I only made the following changes: the bean pkge I purchased was 1#; had no white wine at home (so left out) and used only 1# of cajun seasoned sausage, since that is all I had. SDamare (Slidell, LA)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
Everyone loved this one. I personally thought it was a bit salty, would cut down on the salt next time. But it was an overall hit at our house. Kids like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Instead of using packaged beans, I used canned beans.Much faster and didn't have to worry about uncooked beans. It was delicious. My husband loves it too. I make it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I adapted this recipe for the stovetop, and it couldn't be easier or faster or more delicious! I used canned beans and tomatoes, frozen vegetables for the rest (except onion). And it took only about 1/2 hour to cook on the stovetop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
This recipe must definitely be cooked longer. I gave mine a headstart by boiling on the stove for about 1 1/2 hrs first then putting in crockpot. I plan on adding rice and kielbasa sausage the next time I cook this one. I won Honorable Mention in the Chili/Soup Cookoff at my office with this recipe. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States