Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Excellent introduction to kale. I added 1 cup of leftover barley and used 1/2 red bell pepper instead of canned chili peppers. My family polished off the whole thing! Next time I'll tweak it to cook the barley with the kale for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ehguy11
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really tasty, but I added a lot of extras. 1 sliced carrot, 3 stalks sliced celery, a dash of red wine, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, and some Cajun seasoning. And I changed out vegetable broth for the water. I served it on a bed of couscous. Very, very good! (PS--You can buy the can of diced tomatoes with green chile peppers at Aldi's)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ehguy11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I use mushroom broth instead of water and increase the cumin to 1/2 a tsp. I also add a tsp of Braggs liquid Aminos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I did have to increase the cumin, and like some other reviews suggested I added some red wine and crushed red pepper flakes. The spicy pepper really complemented the dish well. I served this over a simple onion and garlic quinoa pilaf for a healthy, clean meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent - the seasonings went very well together, it was easy to make and very healthy. My husband and I both loved this and will probably make many variations of it now. I subbed butter beans for the cannellini beans and it was terrific that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
i loved it. it was hardy and a bit spicy. i will definantly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
fantastic. always a protein filled hit with my vegan buddies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpoonSister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Who knew that something so healthy could be so good. But it did need more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
really good, i doubled the garlic and cumin, and used veg broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made this for my husband's dinner last night and he raved over it. He said it was spicy and very delicious....definitely a keeper! I followed the recipe exactly except the oregano and basil was dry, didn't have fresh on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States