Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Oh My Goodness this was good!! I added extra veggies to it along with some sausage. I also flavored it with "Mom's Gourmet", Antler Rub and Wow a chihuahua. Yummo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Oakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I loved this recipe. I modified it a bit. I sautéed shallots, garlic, red bell peeper, sun dried tomatoes with the oil, and spicy chicken sausage. Then I added white wine and cooked out the alcohol. The kale I used was a different kind of organic kale from Costco. The leaves are smaller and it tastes like a cross between kale and mustard and collard greens. After that, I followed the recipe, but I added less water. It was delish to the 10th power. I served it with quinoa...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This could become a regular dish for me. I stumbled upon this recipe while looking for other ways to use kale (I have six overproducing plants in my garden this year). Followed the recipe except I used ghee for olive oil, chicken stock instead of water (as suggested in other comments) and omitted the onion powder. I also diced fresh tomatoes instead of using tomatoes from a can, and served over white rice. Everyone loved it--I took it to a friend's house and not only my kids but theirs finished their plates. Some asked for more! It's hard to find healthy dishes that my teenagers will eat. Plus my wife and I enjoyed it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Very good. Left out the water as there was enough water in the canned tomatoes. Used parsley instead of basil (didn't have any). Used 1 can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Delicious! Made some changes as recommended by others. I cut way back on the kale (my DH is not a fan) and used baby kale to cut the cooking time in half. Added about 1/4 cup of cooking sherry and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes with the onions and kale, cooking off the alcohol. Doubled the garlic. Dissolved a chicken bouillon in the 1 1/2 cup of hot water, then added it to pan. Finished as directed. Served with heated sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Alright dish... 1 hr of simmering was too much and there are a lot of beans compared to everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellyhoffer
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The recipe says cook the kale an hour. Not sure why. I used kale in the bag and I only wilted it and only took 5 min or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I simply LOVED this recipe! I was looking for more tasty recipes to try with kale. I've also been looking for new recipes that are hearty and filling but without meat. This did the trick! I did add a few things...more garlic, a few teaspoons of lemon pepper, a few teaspoons of chili powder (I love a little kick in my dishes!) and increased the other spices called for in the ingredients just a tad! Sooo yummy. I even scrambled some eggs and added the left overs. AWESOME! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I love this. The combination of vegetables and beans is delicious and I often change what kind of beans I want and also the seasonings...it's always hearty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this Italian, leaving out the tomato/chiles, and cumin. Sauteed a chopped onion with a cup of mushrooms, a diced small red bell pepper, a minced garlic clove in a tsp of veg. oil with the lid on to let them steam and reduce down, then added a 1/2 cup chicken broth, splash of white wine, 1 can of beans, a T. of Italian herb blend, 1/3 cup chopped dried tomatoes in oil and 1 chopped fresh Roma tomato and tossed with a whole plastic tub of baby kale. This simmered covered while I boiled 1/2 cup WW elbow pasta, which I stirred in with a good splash of Sherry vinegar to brighten the flavors. Before serving I stirred in some fresh basil and drizzled some good olive oil on with just a little sprinkle of parmesan when serving. It was such a good and satisfying vegetarian meal for two. Thank you for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States