Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
We enjoyed this. Used Roma tomatoes instead of canned and jalapeños rather than green chile. An excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Oh My Goodness this was good!! I added extra veggies to it along with some sausage. I also flavored it with "Mom's Gourmet", Antler Rub and Wow a chihuahua. Yummo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Oakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I loved this recipe. I modified it a bit. I sautéed shallots, garlic, red bell peeper, sun dried tomatoes with the oil, and spicy chicken sausage. Then I added white wine and cooked out the alcohol. The kale I used was a different kind of organic kale from Costco. The leaves are smaller and it tastes like a cross between kale and mustard and collard greens. After that, I followed the recipe, but I added less water. It was delish to the 10th power. I served it with quinoa...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This could become a regular dish for me. I stumbled upon this recipe while looking for other ways to use kale (I have six overproducing plants in my garden this year). Followed the recipe except I used ghee for olive oil, chicken stock instead of water (as suggested in other comments) and omitted the onion powder. I also diced fresh tomatoes instead of using tomatoes from a can, and served over white rice. Everyone loved it--I took it to a friend's house and not only my kids but theirs finished their plates. Some asked for more! It's hard to find healthy dishes that my teenagers will eat. Plus my wife and I enjoyed it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Very good. Left out the water as there was enough water in the canned tomatoes. Used parsley instead of basil (didn't have any). Used 1 can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Delicious! Made some changes as recommended by others. I cut way back on the kale (my DH is not a fan) and used baby kale to cut the cooking time in half. Added about 1/4 cup of cooking sherry and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes with the onions and kale, cooking off the alcohol. Doubled the garlic. Dissolved a chicken bouillon in the 1 1/2 cup of hot water, then added it to pan. Finished as directed. Served with heated sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Alright dish... 1 hr of simmering was too much and there are a lot of beans compared to everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellyhoffer
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The recipe says cook the kale an hour. Not sure why. I used kale in the bag and I only wilted it and only took 5 min or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I simply LOVED this recipe! I was looking for more tasty recipes to try with kale. I've also been looking for new recipes that are hearty and filling but without meat. This did the trick! I did add a few things...more garlic, a few teaspoons of lemon pepper, a few teaspoons of chili powder (I love a little kick in my dishes!) and increased the other spices called for in the ingredients just a tad! Sooo yummy. I even scrambled some eggs and added the left overs. AWESOME! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I love this. The combination of vegetables and beans is delicious and I often change what kind of beans I want and also the seasonings...it's always hearty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States