Bean and Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sherry Dollens
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I had to modify it a bit. I only had a can of chicken stock, which 14.5oz, an 8oz can of tomato sauce and a can of great northern beans. I needed something creative between paychecks, so I used 1 tbsp dried onions instead of fresh and added 1/2 tsp rough ground black pepper, a dash of fresh basil and half tsp red pepper flakes, along with half a can od sliced carrots, also left out the bacon. The result was a very tomato-y bean soup, but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Dollens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefFazer
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have been gluten free for almost a decade and really miss Campbell's Bean and Bacon soup. This recipe really hit the spot. I also added some diced carrots, a clove of garlic and a little liquid smoke. It turned out so well that I made it 3 times in the first week. Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefFazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I loved it and so did my family. We were a little tight on ingredients so i used shallots and beef broth instead of onion and chicken. I also tried carmelizing the part of shallots first and it made more an amazing taste. Would i make it again? Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Amazing soup, quick and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanDu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've used the ranch beans before, but since there is some mysterious fatty substance in that can, I switched to pinto beans instead. I just add a little garlic salt, onion salt and a pinch of cayenne pepper, and use probably about 1/3 cup of onion total, and make it as otherwise written. I love this soup! So simple and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This soup is super easy with few ingredients. My family loved it! I was a big fan as a kid of this soup-just the canned version. This is really close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
quick easy to follow directions... just a nice hearty meal... I viewed everyones critic on this.... ranch and baked beans have a totally different taste? I suggest to the person who used baked beans in mollasses... yes that's what was Wrong with your Results... pinto beans are a good 2nd choice if ranch are not available... 5 stars with some tweeking... thanks for this quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Other than useing 2 15oz cans of beans i followed the recipe to the letter, and it was just what i hoped for. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I know this is not consistent with the other reviews, but I have to be honest. I fried the onions first and used beans in molasses. Not using the ranch style beans may have been where I went wrong, but all we could taste was spoonfuls of tomato sauce and beans with some bacon chunks. The soup was very acidic and the taste was not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I was very pleasantly surprised with this recipe. The cupboards were bare & I didn't feel like going to the store. I had to cook mine longer because my husband doesn't like crunchy onions. Also took another reviewers suggestion & threw in some potato flakes. Served with homemade bread & had an easy, tasty meal. This was only enough for my husband & me (with a little bit left over) so either we are big eaters or this doesn’t make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States