Bean and Bacon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I made this with Splenda instead of sugar and added 1/2 cup each: chopped sweet red pepper and chopped green onion. We had it with Calhoun's pork BBQ for a 4th of July picnic. Wow! It was so good and crunchy! Perfect with the BBQ. A 5-star hit for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This was a hit at the last family BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This salad was great and very filling, it was all I needed for dinner and it kept me full for several hours! I ate it right away and it still tasted amazing! Used dried parsley instead and it still had a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This is a beautiful, easy refreshing salad. It was easy to execute. I used red and white kideney beans for visual interest. Its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Would give this 6 *'s if I could. Very fresh. Lots of chopping, but worth it. I'm not very good at measuring "cups" of vegetables--for this recipe I used 1 head of cabbage, 1 small bunch of celery, and 1/2 an onion. We're not big fans of raw onion, so reserved a little bit of bacon grease to cook the onion prior to combining with other ingredients (after draining well). This recipe is a great way to deliciously add cabbage to your diet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
VERY Good. I was looking for something to help use up my left over shredded cabbage, and man this was well worth it. They were out of parsley at the store (I know, like you would expect the store to be out of parsley) so I used cilantro instead, which also gave it a nice flavor! Thanks so much, I will munch on this salad for the next few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was a great salad. Everyone enjoyed it. I did saute the onion in a little olive oil (my bacon was pre-cooked and just heated up and crisped in the microwave) because I can't have raw onion anymore, but it was delicious. A nice change from the common three bean salad. Didn't have celery on hand today so I substituted with grated carrots. I used about 2 table. mayonnaise instead of 1/2 cup. 1/2 cup would have been way too much mayo for our tastes. As it was, I might cut down to 1 table. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
We really like the flavors in this salad. Nice blend of tangy and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Like a kidney bean coleslaw! This recipe is quick and delicious. I did however change a few of the quantities. I used 3 strips of thick cut bacon instead of the 10 strips this recipe called for and reduced the celery to 1/3 cup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spiceman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great recipe with the taste combinations. We had an overabundance of garden cabbage this year and were growing weary of it. It was a great fresh, cold cabbage recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States