Bean & Pasta Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I used this recipe to get rid of some hamburgers I had in the freezer. Of course, I had to make do with the ingredients I had on hand, so I used onion soup mix, fresh tomatoes, and added some frozen veggies with the pasta (macaroni). Nevertheless, it turned out really great. I served it with warm naan. I can't wait to have the leftovers for my lunch tomorrow once the flavours really set in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
This was delicious!! It was very easy and had tons of flavor. You could easily leave out the hamburger and it would be just as delicious and filling. Also, you could add more veggies if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I love this recipe. GREAT "car camping" food. I make the whole dish in the evening, eat about half of it, and then put the rest in my thermos for lunch the next day. I used mac-noodles instead of stars, as I couldn't find any--still great. And it's all small enough to get into--and back out of your thermos bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This soup turned out perfectly. The funny thing is I had all these old hamburgers in my freezer that I had no intention of eating. Instead, I used them in this recipe. The soup was really good and I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmarieann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Simple yet surprisingly tasty. I used veggie sausage chopped up fine and added just a bit of seasonings cause I did not have soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Very good soup. My parents and my husband all liked it, and it's not hard. I used ditalini pasta because I couldn't find the stars. I ended up adding two cans of tomato soup and water to give it more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is easy, yet a nice change in pace for us. Everyone liked it! 3 year old and 1 year old suprisingly ate it up! This one is a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wapakoneta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was an overall good soup. I followed the recipe exactly, but added about a cup or so more of water. It had a mild flavor, and I thought my two kids would like it, but neither really ate it. I thought it was hearty, and would be great on a cold winter's night. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is the type of soup I was looking for :) I read the reviews first and made some changes that were suggested by others and some of my own. I was looking for a "healthy" soup, so I used 1 pound of lean ground turkey (that I seasoned well while browning) instead of beef. I also added more veggies (carrots, celery, peas and kale) and decreased the diced tomatoes to a 14.5 ounce can. I didn't have any star pasta, so I added ~ 1.5 cups of whole grain penne pasta instead. I also used ~ 2.5 cups of chicken broth instead of water. It was delicious and hearty, and although my family had some misgivings initially, everyone loved it (including our toddler!) I will definitely be making it again-- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This soup was a little too heavy on the tomatoes. It could have used more beans, vegetables, meat and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States