Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Love this recipe. As a note to those who serve it to vegetarians - please use an alternative to the Worcestershire as this ingredient has fish in it and is NOT vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Ok so before you judge, I tweaked this quite a bit b/c of what I had on hand. But, for the record, it was this recipe that gave me the inspiration and my "version" turned out great!!!! I used 2 cans of chicken broth, about 1 cup of V8 juice (my subst. for the veggies since I had none), 1 can of garbanzo beans, 1 bay leaf, salt, pepper, paprika, curry powder, garlic powder (all to taste) and the 1/2 tsp. of Worcestershire sauce. I put all this in a pot, allowed to boil, turned down to med/low-low for about 50 min. poured over white rice and had kielbasa slices fried. This was a quick, easy meal and all 4 kids (2yrs-8yrs) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Very hearty and healthy soup, perfect for a cold evening. My family are meat lovers so I have added diced rotisserie chicken in my first two batches, most recently, diced leftover Thanksgiving turkey. It gets eaten quickly!! I have used cannellini beans rather than garbanzo and use no salt added diced tomatoes and low sodium fat free chicken broth. I also add a cup of diced fresh mushrooms. I LOVE soup but find the store bought ready made soups too high in sodium. Definitely saved this keeper to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanHam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Loved it! So easy! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TriMariFri
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I love it! So hearty and flavorful, and easy to make. I used beans that I had on hand, so I substituted kidney beans. And 10 minutes before serving I rolled and chiffonaded fresh baby spinach then added to the pot. This soup was a big hit with family and my friends at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe and lends itself to all sorts of interesting variations; I read many of those offered in the reviews and came up with my own version, based on what I had. I made stock from a leftover smoked pork shoulder bone, adding onion, carrot, celery, bay leaves and some dried mushrooms. I chopped the mushrooms and added them back to the (strained and defatted) stock along with chopped carrots, red bell pepper and zucchini. Then I added canned tomatoes and canellini beans, some leftover barley mushroom pilaf, and seasoned it with hot curry powder, paprika, Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, salt and pepper (I omitted the sugar). It tastes delicious, has a nice kick and I have lots of leftovers. Thanks, Beaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Coles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Fabulous meal that is hearty and healthy. I followed the recipe exactly except paprika. I was out but I'll add it next time. The boyfriend went crazy just stepping in the house to the aroma. He's already asked to repeat the dish this week. It was very thick but personally I like a thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yummy! I add meat, but still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This has been a staple of ours for several years now. Making it exactly as the recipe states, it's delicious! However, it's also very forgiving if I use the veggies that I have on hand or fresh from the garden. Our young kids love this, too, so added bonus that it's healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States