Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Loved it! So easy! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TriMariFri
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I love it! So hearty and flavorful, and easy to make. I used beans that I had on hand, so I substituted kidney beans. And 10 minutes before serving I rolled and chiffonaded fresh baby spinach then added to the pot. This soup was a big hit with family and my friends at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe and lends itself to all sorts of interesting variations; I read many of those offered in the reviews and came up with my own version, based on what I had. I made stock from a leftover smoked pork shoulder bone, adding onion, carrot, celery, bay leaves and some dried mushrooms. I chopped the mushrooms and added them back to the (strained and defatted) stock along with chopped carrots, red bell pepper and zucchini. Then I added canned tomatoes and canellini beans, some leftover barley mushroom pilaf, and seasoned it with hot curry powder, paprika, Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, salt and pepper (I omitted the sugar). It tastes delicious, has a nice kick and I have lots of leftovers. Thanks, Beaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Coles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Fabulous meal that is hearty and healthy. I followed the recipe exactly except paprika. I was out but I'll add it next time. The boyfriend went crazy just stepping in the house to the aroma. He's already asked to repeat the dish this week. It was very thick but personally I like a thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yummy! I add meat, but still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This has been a staple of ours for several years now. Making it exactly as the recipe states, it's delicious! However, it's also very forgiving if I use the veggies that I have on hand or fresh from the garden. Our young kids love this, too, so added bonus that it's healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was pretty good for a vegetable and barley soup. It was nice and hearty. It does have an ever so slight heat kick to it and the undertone of the curry can be tasted. I would not make if curry is not spice that is liked. I loved how thick it was and it used what I had in the house, for the most part. I didn't have celery, so I had to leave that out. When I went to add the diced tomatoes, I realized that I only had canned stewed. It had celery in it, so it ended up working perfect. I added the stewed tomatoes and half of a large fresh tomato to the blender to puree it for a few seconds on low. It cut through some of the green pepper taste and lack of tomatoes in the can. I had cooked some dried chickpeas, the day before, in some onion and carrots and just used those. For the broth I used 2 cups of organic store bought low-sodium vegetable broth and then for the rest of the 6 cups of water I added 3 no-sodium vegetable bouillion cubes. Using a low or no-sodium broth alternative probably cut back on the 39% sodium. I did not find the soup too salty at all. My barley was also the quick type, and it did not seem to be a problem. Adding everything to a pot, at once, I found very handy. I cooked it 1 hour and 20 minutes, stirring 2-3 times. I removed the lid the last ten minutes and turned off the heat. I garnished with a little parmesan cheese. Edit note: After it was just made, I have a ton, and the leftovers are not getting eaten. I am highly dependent on the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by imaflipn
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is an excellent vegetarian soup! I just recently started trying to cut out meat from my diet, but love soup. This is thick, hearty, and excellent - not even missing the meat. I'm on a low sodium diet, so I used 2 q unsalted chicken broth, low sodium garbonzo beans and rinsed them thouroghly, no salt added diced tomato, no salt peas instead of the zuchini, 3/4 cup quick cook barley, and everything else as directed. Super yummy! Will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This soup is so easy to make and delicious! Great recipe. I'm making this for the second time today, and the only mod is adding a shake of crushed red pepper for some zing! This will definitely become one of my standard vegetarian soups, along with Ina Garten's Split Pea Soup (made veg style) and Inn at Little Washington's red pepper soup (made veg style)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States