Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
GOOD SUGGESTION,VERY HEALTHY,VERY TASTY. I LIKE MINE COOKED A LITTLE LONGER, COMMMMME AND GETTT IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
A great recipe for cold evenings when you have little time to cook. Just throw it in the crockpot and forget it until dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ponder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is a great bean soup! Having the mix ready, when you need it, makes this recipe very convenient. The spice mix is wonderful! This soup has plenty of GOOD flavor and with some creative packaging, this mix would make a great gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Great recipe. I couldn't find the mixed vegetable flakes (where do you get those?) so I just left them out. It was even better the next day. I made this for teacher gifts this year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
What a great recipe! I also added black beans in the mix, & used chopped fresh plum tomatoes. Great to have on hand for those nights when you're in the mood for some easy cooking.I found vegetable flakes in the Bulkbarn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
My family and I really liked this soup. It was easy to prepare - just put it in a crock pot and let go. I added some pork stew beef to this. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
My family loves this soup!!! My husband even made it for the guys at deer camp and added ring sausage.I sent it to my son in college and he raved about it(free and tasty food!!) and made it in the crock pot. It makes a great gift for college students!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This had a nice flavor even without the bacon. I made this for 8 vs. the standard 24 servings, and just added the spices to the pot and let it go. Very easy with 5 minutes prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Okay, just to help future makers of this soup, it took me FOREVER to hunt down mixed vegetable flakes in my area. I called every store and hunted down every aisle. Finally I found them in the bulk bins at Whole Foods in the next town. Whew! Soup was delish, by-the-way, and it helps to ask the grocer for dehydrated veggies rather than mixed veggie flakes. I swear, Ive never been looked at so strangly in all my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This meal is so good! I used one package of mixed dry beans (soaked the night before). This made it a little too salty for me but my husband loved it. This was cooked in the crockpot for several hours. I will definately make this again, it is so tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix

With this dry bean mix made in advance, soup’s ready when you are.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States