Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Okay, just to help future makers of this soup, it took me FOREVER to hunt down mixed vegetable flakes in my area. I called every store and hunted down every aisle. Finally I found them in the bulk bins at Whole Foods in the next town. Whew! Soup was delish, by-the-way, and it helps to ask the grocer for dehydrated veggies rather than mixed veggie flakes. I swear, Ive never been looked at so strangly in all my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I have made this recipe three times so far. It's a mainstay. Add 1/4 cup uncooked pearled barley near the end of the cooking time to give the broth a stew-like texture rather than the watery broth you get otherwise. Also, serve with 1/2 oz of plain goat cheese for great flavor and to (ahem) avoid the gastrointestinal consequence typical of eating beans. (An enzyme in the cheese enhances digestion of the beans in the small intestine, or something. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
A great recipe for cold evenings when you have little time to cook. Just throw it in the crockpot and forget it until dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ponder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I tried the recipe as you would make it to put in a jar as a gift (6 servings). The flavor was good, but even after simmering for 3 hours, the beans still weren't soft. I'd definitely recommend letting the beans soak overnight, then drain and rinse before cooking in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
GOOD SUGGESTION,VERY HEALTHY,VERY TASTY. I LIKE MINE COOKED A LITTLE LONGER, COMMMMME AND GETTT IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is a great bean soup! Having the mix ready, when you need it, makes this recipe very convenient. The spice mix is wonderful! This soup has plenty of GOOD flavor and with some creative packaging, this mix would make a great gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I put my beans in a 1 1/2 pint canning jar, add the seasonings right on top, put a lid on it, and store it in the pantry. After dumping the mix in the crockpot, I add 3 jars of water per jar of mix. (Takes 2 for our medium-sized family.) I buy high-end beans at the health food store so they are already triple-washed. I don't pay attention to the bean mix in the recipe, use whatever beans I want, and go for some variety so its pretty in the jars. (Easy gifts, too.) I use vegeterian boullion and skip the bacon bits so I'm not limited when feeding vegeterians. The thing I like most about this is it is an instant meal. With a day of appointments ahead of you, all you have to do is throw the jar or two of beans and seasoning in the crockpot, add a few jars of water, a can of timatoes, and go. Come home to a great aroma and good flavor. This is a magic recipe. For one thing, I always heard you cannot put salt in beans before they are cooked, but this has salt & bouillon, but it works. The taste is great- good by itself, but not overpowering if you want to flavor it differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is yummy on a cold, wintry day. I couldn't find all the different types of beans sold separately, but used a "15-bean" mix that worked great! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
What a great recipe! I also added black beans in the mix, & used chopped fresh plum tomatoes. Great to have on hand for those nights when you're in the mood for some easy cooking.I found vegetable flakes in the Bulkbarn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
My family loves this soup!!! My husband even made it for the guys at deer camp and added ring sausage.I sent it to my son in college and he raved about it(free and tasty food!!) and made it in the crock pot. It makes a great gift for college students!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix

With this dry bean mix made in advance, soup’s ready when you are.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States