Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
GOOD SUGGESTION,VERY HEALTHY,VERY TASTY. I LIKE MINE COOKED A LITTLE LONGER, COMMMMME AND GETTT IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
A great recipe for cold evenings when you have little time to cook. Just throw it in the crockpot and forget it until dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ponder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is a great bean soup! Having the mix ready, when you need it, makes this recipe very convenient. The spice mix is wonderful! This soup has plenty of GOOD flavor and with some creative packaging, this mix would make a great gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Great recipe. I couldn't find the mixed vegetable flakes (where do you get those?) so I just left them out. It was even better the next day. I made this for teacher gifts this year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
What a great recipe! I also added black beans in the mix, & used chopped fresh plum tomatoes. Great to have on hand for those nights when you're in the mood for some easy cooking.I found vegetable flakes in the Bulkbarn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
My family and I really liked this soup. It was easy to prepare - just put it in a crock pot and let go. I added some pork stew beef to this. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This had a nice flavor even without the bacon. I made this for 8 vs. the standard 24 servings, and just added the spices to the pot and let it go. Very easy with 5 minutes prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
My family loves this soup!!! My husband even made it for the guys at deer camp and added ring sausage.I sent it to my son in college and he raved about it(free and tasty food!!) and made it in the crock pot. It makes a great gift for college students!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I tried the recipe as you would make it to put in a jar as a gift (6 servings). The flavor was good, but even after simmering for 3 hours, the beans still weren't soft. I'd definitely recommend letting the beans soak overnight, then drain and rinse before cooking in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I was a little nervous making it. I wasn't sure that it would have enough flavor, but it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix

With this dry bean mix made in advance, soup’s ready when you are.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States