Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This meal is so good! I used one package of mixed dry beans (soaked the night before). This made it a little too salty for me but my husband loved it. This was cooked in the crockpot for several hours. I will definately make this again, it is so tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is yummy on a cold, wintry day. I couldn't find all the different types of beans sold separately, but used a "15-bean" mix that worked great! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I have made this recipe three times so far. It's a mainstay. Add 1/4 cup uncooked pearled barley near the end of the cooking time to give the broth a stew-like texture rather than the watery broth you get otherwise. Also, serve with 1/2 oz of plain goat cheese for great flavor and to (ahem) avoid the gastrointestinal consequence typical of eating beans. (An enzyme in the cheese enhances digestion of the beans in the small intestine, or something. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I was a little nervous making it. I wasn't sure that it would have enough flavor, but it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I tried the recipe as you would make it to put in a jar as a gift (6 servings). The flavor was good, but even after simmering for 3 hours, the beans still weren't soft. I'd definitely recommend letting the beans soak overnight, then drain and rinse before cooking in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
My family loves this soup!!! My husband even made it for the guys at deer camp and added ring sausage.I sent it to my son in college and he raved about it(free and tasty food!!) and made it in the crock pot. It makes a great gift for college students!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This had a nice flavor even without the bacon. I made this for 8 vs. the standard 24 servings, and just added the spices to the pot and let it go. Very easy with 5 minutes prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
My family and I really liked this soup. It was easy to prepare - just put it in a crock pot and let go. I added some pork stew beef to this. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
What a great recipe! I also added black beans in the mix, & used chopped fresh plum tomatoes. Great to have on hand for those nights when you're in the mood for some easy cooking.I found vegetable flakes in the Bulkbarn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Great recipe. I couldn't find the mixed vegetable flakes (where do you get those?) so I just left them out. It was even better the next day. I made this for teacher gifts this year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix

With this dry bean mix made in advance, soup’s ready when you are.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States