Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Really good with a good-quality, smokey paprika... I used fresh vegies since I could, and would reserve the dried vegies for a camp-food option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitewater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This one is not 4 me. I found it to be very, very bland, and I followed the recipe to a T. I also did not like the texture of the garbanzo bean in the soup. Desparate to try to give some flavour to the soup, I threw in the remainder of a chicken that I was saving to make some chicken stock. The recipe is edible; I will not throw it out, but I will not make this one again. Soak the beans overnight. The quick soak method does not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I put my beans in a 1 1/2 pint canning jar, add the seasonings right on top, put a lid on it, and store it in the pantry. After dumping the mix in the crockpot, I add 3 jars of water per jar of mix. (Takes 2 for our medium-sized family.) I buy high-end beans at the health food store so they are already triple-washed. I don't pay attention to the bean mix in the recipe, use whatever beans I want, and go for some variety so its pretty in the jars. (Easy gifts, too.) I use vegeterian boullion and skip the bacon bits so I'm not limited when feeding vegeterians. The thing I like most about this is it is an instant meal. With a day of appointments ahead of you, all you have to do is throw the jar or two of beans and seasoning in the crockpot, add a few jars of water, a can of timatoes, and go. Come home to a great aroma and good flavor. This is a magic recipe. For one thing, I always heard you cannot put salt in beans before they are cooked, but this has salt & bouillon, but it works. The taste is great- good by itself, but not overpowering if you want to flavor it differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
***** excellent, soak the beans before, I used Knorrs Veg Dep for veg flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I thought I followed this recipe exactly, and can't figure out why it just didn't work, but it didn't. We just didn't like it. I'm just glad we tried it before we packaged it up as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I used a 15 bean mix and used veggies for soup mix frozen vegetables turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I am often pressed for time, so I used a large jar of precooked 7 bean soup and added the rest of the ingredients. It was quick and turned out rather good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I used this recipe as a base for my own version. I had 1 package 16 bean soup that I soaked overnight. From this recipe I used the seasonings and added it to my own beans and also 2 cans diced tomatoes and chicken broth. I must say that it was mighty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Okay, just to help future makers of this soup, it took me FOREVER to hunt down mixed vegetable flakes in my area. I called every store and hunted down every aisle. Finally I found them in the bulk bins at Whole Foods in the next town. Whew! Soup was delish, by-the-way, and it helps to ask the grocer for dehydrated veggies rather than mixed veggie flakes. I swear, Ive never been looked at so strangly in all my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This meal is so good! I used one package of mixed dry beans (soaked the night before). This made it a little too salty for me but my husband loved it. This was cooked in the crockpot for several hours. I will definately make this again, it is so tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix

With this dry bean mix made in advance, soup’s ready when you are.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States