BBQ Tuna Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
well, all i can say is that these were just ok. interesting recipe, but i had to make a few changes. after mixing everything up (sans savory, didn't have any so i substituted a dash of dried thyme) i realized there was no way these were going to hold together in the frying process. i added an extra egg, about a Tbs. of dried breadcrumbs, and a pinch of baking powder. i also added some seasoning salt and garlic powder to make up the flavor a bit, especially with the additions. they fried up pretty well (only one fell apart a bit) but the flavor was just kida off. i don't know how to describe it better. they were edible, but not a recipe i will try again. thanks anyway, had fun making and tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNUGLBUGLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe is super easy & quick to make. I used 2/3 bread crubs for the oats since I didn't have any onhand & left out the green onions and savory. The flavor was nice & sweet. Next time I will try with 12 oz. can tuna, 2 tbls bbq, 1 extra egg white, garlic powder & all season salt for a little bit more tuna flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was pretty good for a quick meal, but I think next time I'd like to try using bread crumbs in place of some or all of the oats - I kept getting the taste and texture of oats and it didn't seem to fit with tuna. I served in pita pockets with lettuce, sliced sweet onion and a little more BBQ sauce. Will make again, but will probably tweak to our preferences. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I looked at this recipie and though 'nah, its way too easy to be any good'. I missed out the onion and salt and this recipie was fantastic! I also used oat bran instead of quick cooking oats (all i had on hand) and it still turned out fine, I found a little extra oats was needed then stated but other wise this is a fantastic quick mean / snack and you would never believe you are eating canned tuna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
The flavors didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I make these ahead of time and keep them in the freezer for a healthy protein snack. When I need something quick, I just microwave them for about 30 seconds. I do not use savory, so I don't know if that affects the outcome. These are a good, cheap, and easy nutritious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This a great new way to use tuna. My whole family enjoyed this tasty dish. Although, my husband ate it with worchestershire sauce on the side, he went back for seconds. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have to give this 5 stars and here's why. I doubled the tuna in this recipe. Seems so healthy for you. I thought it was fine. I can see it tasting better with lettuce, tomato and mayo on pita. I'd go with LESS oatmeal too or maybe that's just me. However, to noses that usually wrinkle at my cooking attempts in this house.... my husband like it so much, he took the leftovers for lunch the next day and loved it even better then! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I ave this recipe 4 stars. I liked it alot and added it to my dinner meal menu. I added a little bread crumbs to my mixture about a tablespoon or so and it stayed together very well for me. I served it with tropical coleslaw (a youtube recipe), and I also cut the centers of slices of bread with a biscuit cutter and toasted them lightly on top the stove. They made the meal more filling. My hubby and I really enjoyed it and the bbq sauce kind of made me forget I was eating tuna. So its on the menu a few more times. Thanks for sharing this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
was not one of our favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States