BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great sauce as is, but with a few modifications you can suit it to your taste. Nice thing about this recipe is that it contains no odd ingredients that you don't normally have. I use this when I'm out of worchestershire sauce or brown sugar. I also reduce the water and increase the vinegar - for more flavor. Also good to add some garlic powder and onion powder either way. I've also added crushed red pepper, maple syrup & a bit of a fire barbecue sauce that I have to use very sparingly. So many options. Great as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is a good starter I need a little more added 1/4 C molasses table spoon honey and a few spices to give it a kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This recipe is great! I omit the water to make it the right consistency for me! Everything else I add as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Im new to bbq sauces so wanted to try this one. I think it is a little runny but taste very good. Put it over bacon rapped chicken and turned out amazing. I doubled it but did half on the vinegar and water when I doubled. Was very pleased wife and company enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is a great starter - I was afraid I wouldn't be able to make BBQ sauce without brown sugar. Since someone had commented that it was too thin I left out the water. I also liberally added Worcestershire sauce, Siracha sauce, spicey brown mustard, chopped garlic and pancake syrup. Obviously quite a stretch from the original recipe but it was all stuff I already had. It was delicious on grilled chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Full of flavor!! My husband and I LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
i think the sause is good but my sauce has honey, bbq sauce,sugar,ketchup,honey mustard,mustard,hot sauces and a little bite of cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I'm happy that I read the reviews first! I omitted the water until the end. I followed the recipe exactly and added onion powder, chipotle powder, fresh garlic, a little honey, worcestershire sauce and some black and red pepper. So basically it's a great jump off point that I plan on using all the time. You can make the base and then add what works for you. it's great. I simmered it on the stove a bit to bring out the flavors and used it immediately. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Very good! Our family likes a thicker sauce so I omitted the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Consistency is watery in my opinion, so dont expect a thick gloppy sauce like in a commercial bottle of bbq sauce. With that said, this is a great recipe if you do not have bbq sauce at home. The ingredients is simple and straight forward. It certainly takes less than 10 minutes to make per the instructions. Quick to whip up and Id say with 90% certainly with common cooking ingredients found at home. Thats why it gets a 4 out of 5. Flavor wise its decent, is a good sauce, not excellent or amazing, but better than average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States