BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by JUSTCYN
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is the first BBQ Sauce recipe I have saved in my keepers file of sauces and dressings. I love this one. Fantastic base recipe. I typed in “BBQ Sauce” in the site search and that’s exactly what I got, plain and simple. Really easy and I always have the common ingredients. Base sauce is pretty ketchupy so you may want to flavor it up a little. But this is just about the perfect recipe to start with and toy around with. I like that it’s not like most other BBQ Sauce recipes that are somebody’s secret formula and throw in everything but the kitchen sink. Those are just too complicated and I’m not that much of a BBQ Sauce connoisseur. I just want some sauce for some meat for Pete’s sake! I don’t want to cook it and simmer it and muck around all day on the sauce! It was never so simple to impress your friends and family that you made your own “secret” BBQ Sauce! I like my sauce on the sweet side so I used brown sugar and about ½ of the white sugar and some honey too. It’s still pretty tangy but with all that sugary stuff I think I’ll get the sticky factor I wanted. I reserved adding the water to see how thick it would be at the end. I ended leaving it thickish (it’s not that thick after adding the vinegar) and NOT adding any water but that does add to the tang since the vinegar doesn’t get diluted. I added a little onion powder too since I often seem to reach for the bottled sauces that have onion. I did make a double batch. Base recipe doesn't make tons. Thanks, LAFLINT, I’l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Another sauce to add to my collection of BBQ Sauce Recipes. It's a good base recipe. You can go anywhere with this recipe. Tweek here and there. I made double batch. Added some onion flakes and a little bit of minced garlic, a little worsteshire. I also simmered it a little while to thicken up just a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
The perfect thing about this recipe, is that you can add (or not) anything to suit your taste, and it will still taste great. We've added dozens of different spices on different occasions, and we haven't been disappointed yet. I do double the recipe tho, as we like a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is a GREAT base recipe if you've run out of BBQ sauce. You can modify, tweak, whatever. But it is absolutely wonderful as a great everyday starter (if u want) BBQ sauce. For those who gave crappy reviews-get yer noses outta the air and take a laxative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I have made this sauce about 10 times and it is one of the best and simple to make...I have made better sauce then this....but how much better isnt worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Loved it! I was looking for something with the ingredients I had, and this was it! I doubled the recipe as follows: 1/2 c. apple cider vinegar, 1 cup ketchup, 3/4 c. water, 1/2 c. brown sugar, sprinkle of Lawry's seasoning, a couple dashes of worcestersire sauce, and... I sauteed a 1/4 of a small onion (chopped fine)and 1 chopped garlic clove and tossed it all in the bowl at the same time. I did make a couple of squirts of ketchup to make a thicker consistency. After all that....I had some boneless pork ribs, tossed them in the crockpot and put the BBQ mixture over the top. Stirred together and cooked about 4 hrs. on high, then turned to low until we were ready for dinner. When we were ready to eat, I took a large slotted spoon and separated the pork. I then ladled it onto good hamburger buns and even the kids ate all their dinner! I think next time I will use the Hawaiian buns. Overall, YUMMY!! (even hubby said so and he doesn't say things too often!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philomath, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
easy to make but no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This was good but I used less vinegar.I also used brown sugar.I add a little Worcestersire sauce.I add a little garlic salt,chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
It was good i just added some brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This tasted like watered down ketchup. I had to keep adding ketchup until I had used almost the entire container of ketchup. Then I had to keep adding worchestershire sauce and garlic. This one is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States