BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
My days of buying bottled saucer are over. This makes up in 3 minutes and costs less than about 50 cents. I used brown sugar instead of white, and "Rooster" sauce (chili sauce) instead of the chili powder to give it a kick. It was great over pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This sauce is a great starter for most bbq sauces. It's bland, too thin and too sweet on it's own. But I cut the amount of sugar in half, left out the water and added garlic salt, onion powder, black pepper and cayenne to it. SO GOOD. I make huge batches of it and then bottle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
amazing base sauce to make your own, add anything you want or change up what you use and you have some amazing bbq sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
It was an ok sauce. Reviewers are correct it is a tad too much cider vinegar flavor, but it does for the most part remind most people of Mcdonald's BBQ sauce. Added liquid smoke to it and made sure the sauce was HOT. As in heat it up in a slow cooker or sauce pan. It does help. Plus cold BBQ sauce is weird. -Jon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon D 36

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I thought this recipe was a great sauce base. We like a bit of spice in our sauce so I added 1 Tbsp worcestershire sauce, 2 tsp Tabasco & 1 Tbsp buffalo wing sauce (which it probably could've done without). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyMP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
tastes like flavored ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is NOT BBQ sauce! I can usually find something good about a recipe, but I'm at a loss with this one. When measuring the ingredients I thought it was way too much water, but thought I would try it first as stated. Way too watery! It has an odd flavor, but doesn't have even a hint of BBQ. I won't be playing with this one to attempt to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas Kountry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Way too watery! Oh my goodness this was just way too thin and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Quick and easy and great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was tasty! I was in a pinch and didn't have adequate time to simmer, so I threw some cornstarch in it and tossed it over the pulled pork for some instant yummyness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States